Skip to content

mommy, i’m hungry

June 23, 2009

kitchenI would need a calculator to add up all the times I hear “Mommy, I’m hungry!” in a day. I feel like my day is full of snack negotiations and I often lose. I think I need a system of some sort like “only fruit in the afternoons” or some type of plan so the expectation has already been set and I just have to deliver the goods. Like most of the moms I know in the United States, I quickly picked up Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptively Delicious and had great intentions to make something from it- but have NOT MADE ONE THING. So, I need some ideas. EASY ideas. FAST ideas. NEW ideas.  Here is a quick slideshow of 10 snack idea’s Jessica Seinfeld recently submitted to Oprah.com – hadn’t thought to freeze grapes before. If you have a “snack plan”, please tell me about it. Maybe I should blow the dust off that cookbook…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Maureen Garrelts permalink
    June 24, 2009 7:52 am

    I have made almost everything is Deceptively Delicious. The purees are really easy to do and I find the recipes simple. I love sneaking fruits and veggies in the dishes I make. I enjoy it for myself and well as for the kids. The recipes I make over and over are the mac and cheese (with rice or quinoa pasta), tacos, spaghetti pie, meatball soup, chicken salad, tuna salad, quesadillas, and every muffin recipe in the book. Good stuff!

  2. Maureen Garrelts permalink
    June 24, 2009 8:00 am

    Healthy Snacks- the list in the book is great. My kids love rice cakes with peanut butter or cream cheese, clif bar fruit twists, clif bar energy bars for kids, yogurt tubes frozen, smoothies( I already have the purees in the freezer, so it’s easy!), grape tomatoes and sliced cucumbers, steamed broccoli/carrots and one of Jessica’s dips, Pirates Booty, baked pita bread with cinnamon sugar, string cheese, to name a few.
    I also have a cookbook called Healthy Lunchboxes for Kids by Amanda Grant and Tara Fisher. I have made granola bars and many other recipes from this book. I love it!

  3. June 24, 2009 12:19 pm

    I have a dusty copy of J Seinfeld’s book too. I’m a little inspired to try more recipes now. The chocolate chip cookies with garbanzo beans and the brownies with spinach are good! (Of course I have only tried the sweets)

    mine also love raw broccoli and carrots with hummus. I love the idea of putting that stuff out right before dinner when they’re sqauwking and hungry and will eat anything.

    If your kids like Lara bars. Here’s a recipe:

    homemade lara-type bars
    makes 1 bar (be sure to multiply the recipe for the amount of bars you want)
    1 Tablespoon dates, pureed
    3 Tablespoons dry ingredients (nuts, dried fruits, coconut, oats, etc.)

    pit dates and whir in a food processor or mash by hand until they’re one sticky mass. this will be the base, the “glue” that will hold it all together. to this base, add about 3 Tablespoons of finely diced dried ingredients – the nuts of your choice (almonds, cashews, pecans, hazlenut, etc.), dried fruit, oats, spices, etc. with your hands mix it all together and form into a tight ball. roll this ball into a rope and then pat it flat into a rectangle. tightly wrap in plastic wrap (the wrapping will help the bar hold its shape as you further mold it) and apply pressure to the top using a flat surface – a cutting board works well. to shape the sides you can take two knives and apply pressure to opposite ends of the bars. refrigerate wrapped. for larger batches shape into a larger square, chill and cut into desired bar shapes with a very sharp knife.

    some tasty combinations:
    cashew: 1 Tablespoon dates + 3 Tablespoons cashews
    almond coconut: 1 Tablespoon dates +2 Tablespoons almonds + 1 Tablespoon unsweetened coconut
    almond spice: 1 Tablespoon dates + 3 Tablespoons almonds + 1/4 teaspoon each: cinnamon & nutmeg + 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger.
    cranberry coconut: 2 Tablespoons minced dried cranberries, 1 Tablespoon unsweetened coconut

  4. June 29, 2009 5:09 am

    I love that cookbook! The chocolate chip/chick pea cookies are awesome : ) I make mini muffins for Addie as a snack – start with a plain oatmeal muffin mix (wish I could make totally from scratch, but hey, I’m busy!) and add pureed pumpkin, raisins, shredded zucchini, cinnamon, a little molasses, and some flax meal. She loves them and they pack a nice healthy punch.

  5. Hadley Bay permalink
    June 29, 2009 8:52 am

    My mom gave me the book- Eat This Not That for Kids and it’s worth a quick skim, I keep it in my car before I head into the grocery store and it’s helped me make better choices for their snacks and breakfast.

    http://www.amazon.com/Eat-This-Not-That-Kids/dp/160529943X

    My kids also love the pink pancakes from Jessica Seinfeld’s book. I never thought I’d be pureeing beets, but they love them.

  6. Jill Tortell permalink
    June 29, 2009 9:18 am

    Hi Suz,

    My little ones love these and my oldest helps make them!!

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Fresh-Fruit-and-Yogurt-Ice-Pops/Detail.aspx?src=etaf

Leave a Reply

