Skip to content

it’s only 5:45 in the morning!

June 29, 2009

totclock5:45 am. My four year old is next to our bed ready to start  the day. My husband and I both beg- “It’s not time to wake up yet! See the clock??” Blank stare back from our son. Our day begins.

Just heard about this clock for kids and it could be the answer to all my early morning prayers.  This is what Justine told me: The Tot Clock (available on amazon for $50) allows you to set a sleep time and wake time. The clock turns blue at the set sleep time, and even plays 30 minutes of soothing lullabies before beginning white noise for the night. The clock turns yellow and the white noise turns off at whatever time you’ve deemed a reasonable wake time. I have to say, even when our son, Robbie,  does call for me before the clock turns yellow, all I have to do is go in and remind him that “blue means night night.”

I so hope this works in my house.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Brittain permalink
    June 29, 2009 7:19 pm

    I love the idea of one of these clocks. There’s another model (or used to be) that has a sun and moon that phase based on the time you set to be nighttime and daytime. Also around $50.

    So far we’ve been able to hammer home that the 7 on our son’s digital clock means wake-up time. But if a clock like this keeps kids resting until parents are ready to face the day, it’s one of the best inventions ever!

  2. July 1, 2009 8:07 am

    Amy – I am envious…we are lucky to make it to 6!
    On a slightly different note, I found another great tool for night time. It’s the Cloud b Turtle Night Light Twighlight and the shell projects a complete starry night onto the ceiling and walls (actual constellations for kids to learn as they grow older). You can choose from three shades and it is on a set timer for 45 minutes. It’s really fun. I just wish it kept my son in his room until 7am! You can find it at Amazon.

  3. Anja Carter permalink
    July 2, 2009 8:10 pm

    Suzanne…how has it worked so far?

  4. Sarah Hepner permalink
    July 5, 2009 9:28 pm

    If you want a less expensive option, my friend Sara put her son’s light on a timer (the kind you use when you go on vacation) and sets it to turn on at 6:30. He is not to leave his room until the light turns on. She says it works really well. The only problem is we have two boys in one room and no light can drown out the sounds of yelling, fighting, wrestling, gymnastics, etc that go on in the room until they can come out. Would love to hear any suggestions!

Leave a Reply

