Skip to content

so why did I spend $20 per bottle?

September 6, 2009

siggIf you haven’t heard, SIGG recently announced that their very popular SIGG bottles (made before August 2008) contained trace amounts of BPA.  Was it just me that thought they marketed themselves as the “safe” bottle and then I spent $20 per bottle believing it? Here is the letter from the CEO and here is how you can ship yours back (on your own dollar) to receive the NEW liner that is supposedly BPA free.  I am not sure how you are feeling about this, but I am totally done with SIGG! 

My friend Jenny K emailed this info which made me laugh:

I sent in a picture to camelbak of a sigg bottle on our recycling can.  If I am one of the first 500 people to send in the pic they send a free stainless water bottle. One per household.  http://camelbak.com/about-us/news/2009-press-releases/9-3-clunker.aspx

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Brittain permalink
    September 7, 2009 5:22 pm

    I’ve been so steamed about this. This reminds me to post the info on Facebook in case someone’s missed it. Grrrr. I’m done with SIGG too…totally untrustworthy in my book, since they refused to disclose the ingredients for a time before admitting they contain BPAs.

    You can get 30% off another brand at this site when you send in your SIGG for recycling: http://www.bigbottleswap.com/Home.html

  2. Beth permalink
    September 7, 2009 9:21 pm

    I’m steamed about this too. Especially since we have over $100 invested in Sigg bottles and have also given them as gifts. Plus, even if you send yours back, aparently they do not guarantee the replacement does not contain BPA. Arrgh. But, we are on to something even better, thanks to Suzanne, who turned me on to the Camelbak bottles with the straw. I love that the mouth is wide enough to add ice (a major drawback to Siggs)!

  3. theconciergemom permalink*
    September 7, 2009 9:33 pm

    I am shocked when I am still seeing SIGGS at REI and Whole Foods. Maybe they have to liquidate their stock…

    anyways, saw in USA Today awhile ago that Gwyneth is liking these bottles- was tempted to buy one at that time, but I was satisfied with my SIGGS… but that was then, this is now! here is her comment on KOR water bottles:

    KOR Hydration Vessel
    http://www.korwater.com
    $29.95

    This brings a whole new meaning to the term “water bottle.” The KOR hydration vessel is BPA- free, has an easy to use hinge-cap, a rubber nonslip bottom and encourages you to never drink out of a disposable plastic bottle ever again.

  4. Heather permalink
    September 8, 2009 1:33 pm

    Thanks Suzanne!
    I wasn’t aware. How frustrating and misleading. I do have some extra water bottles left over from my 2003 wedding if you need one. : )

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      September 8, 2009 1:41 pm

      Heather,

      Are you STILL trying to offload those water bottles? 🙂 I am almost 100% SURE those contain BPA!

      S

  5. Heather permalink
    September 9, 2009 6:17 am

    Rats! I hope my wedding guests don’t catch on and try to ship them back – demand new liners…etc. I need to get out of the water bottle business fast. 🙂

Leave a Reply

