Skip to content

holiday appetizers

November 1, 2009

cranberryNow that it’s officially November 1, I am going to start talking about two things on my mind: entertaining and working out!!  Since I usually delay working out, we’ll discuss that in my next post. As for entertaining, here is my number one/go-to appetizer during the holidays.

Brie & Cranberries

8-inch round of Brie Cheese (cut off top coating)

3 cups cranberries

1/3 cup currants

1/3 cup water

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/8 teaspoon dry mustard

1/8 teaspoon cardamom

1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

1/8 teaspoon ginger

1/8 teaspoon allspice

 Place Brie in a pie-sized plate

 Bring the rest of the ingredients to a boil in a non-aluminum pan

 Simmer, stirring for 5 minutes

 Pour cranberry mixture over Brie

 Bake at 300-degrees for 10-15 minutes

Serve with crackers

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina lang permalink
    November 2, 2009 10:24 pm

    why does the pan have to be non-aluminum?

  2. theconciergemom permalink*
    November 2, 2009 10:47 pm

    I have no idea!! I just make it in any pot I have and then pour it in a high rimmed pie plate so all the mixture stays on top of the brie.

  3. Ali permalink
    November 3, 2009 9:01 am

    I am digging the looks of this. Will let you know when I make it.

  4. Meredith M. permalink
    November 4, 2009 12:15 am

    FYI… aluminum pans can react with high acidity ingredients (like cranberries) and discolor the product and give it a metallic taste.

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      November 4, 2009 2:15 pm

      Meredith!! Thanks for this. I knew there must be an answer and you would definitely know it. Meredith is a trained chef!!

  5. Amy permalink
    November 9, 2009 6:05 pm

    You know what I love? Cheese. Melty cheese. I can put away baked brie like you can’t imagine. Or maybe you can. Anyway, this is a good alternative to my even-fattier-than-plain-brie puff pastry brie with brown sugar and pecans inside. Because I need many baked brie options–I’m being serious!

  6. Stacey permalink
    December 7, 2009 2:34 pm

    Loved this recipe, Suzanne! Made this recipe for my book club and it was such a hit I made it again for Thanksgiving and plan to take it to a holiday party next week. Minimal prep time and a great alternative to standard baked brie. Thanks for passing it along!

Leave a Reply

