Skip to content

total cheeseball

November 23, 2009

I am not into cheeseballs- I really am not. But this cheeseball that my friend Amy brought to a girls weekend was GONE in less than 30 minutes- and we had about 6 other appetizers there too so that says something.  As my husband’s Uncle Tim once said about an appetizer I made, “Suzanne, I could eat this until I throw up.”  Make it.  It is an awesome holiday app.  Just make sure you have plenty of crackers as you will have lots of fans.

Curried Cheese Ball
2 8 oz packages cream cheese, softened
1/2 C chutney
1/2 t mustard powder
1 1/2 T curry powder
Several green onions, chopped
1/2 C sliced almonds

Mix cream cheese and chutney.
Season with mustard powder and curry; stir in green onions.
Chill overnight.
Roll into a ball and roll in almonds.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kaity permalink
    November 23, 2009 3:38 pm

    um, yummmm! Will make ASAP!

  2. Emily Provost permalink
    November 23, 2009 6:18 pm

    So funny that you posted about cheese balls. I have no love for them. I honestly didn’t know who ate them. Until recently when my friend made one and I thought “Eh, I’ll try it. Why not?”

    So good!! Now I have reasons to make cheese balls!
    Here’s the recipe. It makes two..well, balls.

    •2 (8 oz.) packages cream cheese, softened
    •3 1/2 cups shredded sharp Cheddar cheese (I used the white Tillamook Vintage Sharp)
    •1 (1 oz.) package Ranch-style dressing mix
    •2 cups chopped pecans
    •pecans for garnish

    In a large bowl, mix together cream cheese, Cheddar cheese and dressing mix. Form into one large ball or two smaller balls. Roll in chopped pecans to coat surface. Decorate and garnish with pecan halves. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours or overnight.

  3. November 24, 2009 10:44 am

    Yes, I’m not handy in the kitchen but this looks easy and delicous…and a good cover-up to my somewhat bleak culinary skills!

  4. Amy permalink
    December 1, 2009 7:54 pm

    Wait, next question: What was the appetizer that Uncle Tim wanted to eat until he threw up? We need that recipe too.

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      December 1, 2009 10:08 pm

      Oddly enough Amy, it was another of YOUR recipes!! it was the spinach artichoke dip. Feel free to give us all your appetizer recipes!! YUM.

  5. December 1, 2009 8:17 pm

    I personally LOVE cheeseballs – always have, always will. So I can’t wait to make this one!

Leave a Reply

