Skip to content

overprotective- who me?

December 8, 2009

My dad clips articles for our family every month on things he thinks will interest us and then sends them in the mail. It’s a really sweet way to stay in touch.  This past week he sent me a great article from Time magazine on Helicopter Parents. It will be interesting if he sent this to my sister’s as well- or if it’s just me he’s worried about!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 10:22 am

    Both of your sisters received a copy so don’t worry!

  2. Christina Lang permalink
    December 8, 2009 6:09 pm

    I read this article–I think it’s great!

  3. Amy permalink
    December 8, 2009 6:20 pm

    This is an interesting backlash.
    Sort of similarly, have you read the book The Blessing of a Skinned Knee? I’m reading it little by little for a women’s group I’m in, and I adore it so far.

  4. Erika Strote permalink
    December 8, 2009 8:09 pm

    “hothouse, mama-tied, danger-hallucinating joy extinguishers.”….this lady is hilarious! And, I would second the recommendation for Blessing of a Skinned Knee. The article also seems to echo some of Parenting with Love and Logic, which has saved me a few times.

  5. heather permalink
    December 9, 2009 6:55 am

    Great article! I really enjoyed it. I loved the part about the importance of play. Thank you (and your dad!) for sharing!

  6. Gretchen permalink
    December 9, 2009 9:56 pm

    I read the article too. Loved it!

Leave a Reply

