Skip to content

bathing suits

January 12, 2010

Where do you buy your swimsuits?  I have been looking online and I need to update mine. My least favorite place to look for a suit is in a store but I may just have to change my attitude about it!!  Please leave me a quick comment if you have a go-to place –  thanks!

Had to include this swimsuit photograph of Jim Carrey and Jenny McCarthy- he is too funny- read this story!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill permalink
    January 12, 2010 3:18 pm

    Defintely Athleta. I just measured myself and followed their size guide. They fit perfectly!! I love the material they use. Best suits I’ve ever owned! I love the coverup I bought from the too!

  2. Anja Carter permalink
    January 12, 2010 3:34 pm

    I guess it depends on your style…I have a tendency toward sexier suits. I like http://www.ujena.com (SOME of their stuff)…and also-Target has some of my favorites. victorias secret just released their 2010 stuff…awesome!

  3. Anja Carter permalink
    January 12, 2010 3:46 pm

    I meant sexier in general-not sexier than Athleta;)

  4. Ali permalink
    January 12, 2010 6:54 pm

    for crazy sexy suits, try Lands End. Ha. But I do like theirs and the mix and match size options. Also have had luck at Everything but the Water. Helpful staff and lots of styles.

  5. January 13, 2010 12:44 am

    Is it cheesy to share that I look through the Victoria Secret swimwear catalog? Well, I do! They’ve got so many styles that there’s always something for everyone. And, I’m also a huge fan of the sporty suits at Title Nine.

  6. January 13, 2010 10:48 am

    try Boden! They have a small, but good quality selection. Note that they’ve changed over to US sizes: http://www.bodenusa.com/en-US/Womens-Swimwear.html#nav

  7. Meredith M. permalink
    January 13, 2010 11:31 pm

    I discovered this local shop right after I bought a new patagonia suit last spring. I love the retro styling and you can order online. http://www.popinaswimwear.com

  8. Jenn permalink
    January 14, 2010 1:18 pm

    Such a great post ~ for anyone like me, no chest, plenty of hips and no torso – Athleta tankinis are way too long, Victoria’s Secret has padding that is beyond realistic and Boden not enough padding. Ugh! So, I have shopped Macy’s and Kohl’s (believe it or not) for the mix and match styles. The 2 suits that I can wear out in public are not a set (tops from Kohls and bottoms from Macy’s.) Good luck ladies!

  9. Hadley permalink
    January 15, 2010 1:57 pm

    I’m bathing suit shopping right now for an end of the month trip to the waterpark. Thanks for the ideas. I actually found a great one at Target. It looks just like the popina one pieces but was only $39. It’s the Merona® Bandeau Shirred One Piece.

    I also ordered some from Victoria’s Secret so we’ll see how those work out.

  10. Stacy Armatas permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:18 pm

    One of my best girlfriend is a swimsuit designer and although these swimsuits are quite sexy looking (maybe not something to wear around the neighborhood pool), they do look great on–it’s taken me 7 years to get into mine though! HAHA! Check out http://frenchfifty.com/ if you want something for the couple’s weekend!

  11. Nancy permalink
    January 30, 2010 6:24 pm

    I ordered a suit from Popina after reading Meredith’s comment and I LOVE IT. Somehow it magically makes even a 50-something body look pool-ready. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

