Skip to content

towelling off

January 18, 2010

My friend Hadley wrote me: “I’m looking for ideas on towels for our bathrooms.   I have some Ralph Lauren ones from Horchow but don’t love them.  Any suggestions for nice bathroom towels that are soft, dry quickly without smelling mildewy and don’t take forever to dry in the dryer.  I keep reading about bamboo ones?    What do you like?”

Please chime in with your favorite towels. And, what is it with quality towels smelling so yucky after the wash?  Is it because they are too thick? After all my nice washcloths started smelling so much, I went to Target and got super-thin ones which never smell! Does anyone have a solution for this?  Thanks!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Gretchen permalink
    January 18, 2010 8:07 pm

    I cant wait to hear the solution to smelly towels! 🙂

  2. Allison permalink
    January 18, 2010 8:26 pm

    My personal, unconfirmed belief is that smelly towels are a result of the front loading washers & dryers. I can’t really tell you why, except that’s when we started having problems, as did several others I know. As a result, we did buy some bamboo towels from Sears because we had heard how great they were, and have loved them! Worth the money, definitely!

  3. heather permalink
    January 18, 2010 8:39 pm

    Yes, we were told the same thing about the front loaders, which we also have. They are so water efficient that they don’t use enough water to rinse all of the soap through so you have to make sure you set your washer for the “extra rinse” setting. We also found that sprinkling in some powder Borax helps.

  4. January 18, 2010 9:27 pm

    As much as people say not to because of absorbency, I like to use fabric softener in their wash. They come out smelling lovely, and I really don’t feel that their absorbency is reduced by doing so. I’ll be posting an informative article on towels next week! 🙂

    http://www.chelseaconnolly.wordpress.com

  5. Bridgette Thomas permalink
    January 19, 2010 12:02 am

    I swear by Restoration Hardware towels. I have a front loader. I use Tide high efficiency detergent and Downy free fabric softener. I don’t have any trouble with the towels smelling but you do risk them fading by not using the detergent they recommend. I have off white towels so its not an issue for me.

  6. January 19, 2010 9:37 am

    I’ll have to try those Bamboo towels as I’ve suffered towel-dilemmnas for years. Thanks for this post!

  7. Ali permalink
    January 19, 2010 2:10 pm

    yes, thank you for this post. I have been towel hunting myself. Will try the Sears bamboo.

  8. January 19, 2010 5:56 pm

    So funny you wrote. I was just researching this myself. I came across this on another blog
    http://www.remodelista.com/posts/10-easy-pieces-basic-white-towels

  9. Hadley permalink
    January 20, 2010 6:55 am

    I read online that the Lands’ End Bamboo towels were highly rated by the Wall Street Journal (sold through sears or lands’ end). Thanks for all the comments.

  10. Sarah Hepner permalink
    January 25, 2010 10:27 am

    I was having the same problem with smelly towels! I have a front loader and Restoration Hardware towels. I read somewhere to add vinegar to the wash and it has helped! I really wouldn’t suggest this with any colored towels from Restoration Hardware though. They are so high maintenance, I used regular detergent and it ruined the color. I can’t imagine what vinegar would do. My cream towels are fine though.

Leave a Reply

