Skip to content

feeding the family

January 25, 2010

I asked a bunch of friends/cooks what they make most during the week for their family (kids included as we all know that it isn’t easy to find ONE meal for everyone!).  I will start sharing recipes over the next couple of weeks and I hope you can benefit from some of them.

My friend Beth has four little ones under 7, so she knows what she’s talking about when she says this recipe appeals to all ages.  sidenote: My boys like it too! I stole this one from her years ago.  Here is Beth’s note:

Well, I guess if I had to have one, I’d say spaghetti and meatballs since my kids just gobble it up every time…..
1lb. ground beef (80/20%)
1 c. bread crumbs
1 egg
1/2 to 3/4c. grated parmesan cheese
1/4 to 1/2 c. water 
2 tbls. parsley flakes
Salt and pepper to taste
Combine all ingredients and roll into golf ball sized balls. Bake on cookie sheet at 350 for 30 minutes. Add to spaghetti sauce. Serve with pasta!
One Comment leave one →
  1. Jill Keogh permalink
    January 25, 2010 9:28 pm

    This one’s totally not glamorous but I’ve been on a real Crescent roll kick lately and there are so many possibilities that kids love. Tonight we had “Princess and Pirate Pockets” which are really easy, I’ll give you the directions but you can watch a similar video at this site and there are tons of other recipes that look great.

    http://www.pillsbury.com/Recipes/ShowRecipe.aspx?rid=15473

    • Piece together the 4 large rectangles in the roll, pinch together at serrations
    • Flatten out the rectangles with a rolling pin, slice vertically and then cross-ways 3 times to make 6 small squares
    • Dab a little mayonnaise and then a small square of cheese and small square of deli chicken or turkey OR your choice of filling (see website)
    • Fold over to make a closed triangle, bake at 350 for about 10 minutes
    Great for a snack or an easy dinner!

Leave a Reply

