Skip to content

a welcome cake

May 1, 2010

My sister Holly made this cake years ago while I was visiting her.  She always has great recipes!  After I tasted this cake, I ran out to buy a bundt pan as I knew I would be making this often.  I have been making this cake for new neighbors for about a year and I always hear back that they LOVE it and want the recipe! I just made it again this afternoon to bring to my son’s first piano recital tomorrow and as it took 4 minutes to mix (less time than it took my oven to pre-heat!) I thought I should definitely be sharing it.

Poppy Seed Cake

1 Duncan Hines Butter Cake Mix

3/4 c. Oil

1/2 c. sugar

4 eggs

1  8 oz. sour cream

1/4 c. or less poppy seeds

mix above for 2 minutes

grease bundt pan with butter flavored crisco and dust with sugar (crucial!)

bake at 350 for an hour

 

Is even better the next day!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    May 2, 2010 9:18 am

    Looks good, I copied it and will make it soon—Thanks!

  2. Allison permalink
    May 3, 2010 7:13 am

    From a person who usually won’t waste my dessert calories on a non-chocolate one, let me tell you this cake is GOOD!!! I ate it completely out of kindness on the very first day I met Suzanne because she had just baked it and offered it up. I then graciously took extra home and polished off probably two more pieces worth on the walk from her house to my house (about 4 houses away)…

  3. May 6, 2010 12:09 pm

    I made this a few days ago and it is FABULOUS! Holy cow. My family loved it. It was gone in a day. I will not admit how many pieces I ate.

  4. Jill Keogh permalink
    May 9, 2010 10:29 am

    Ah yes! I made this cake yesterday and it is totally amazing! My family is begging me to make another one today! I was tempted to try it with almond flavoring but didn’t have any in the house. I might try that next time! Thanks again Suzanne and WAY TO GO ON THE HALF MARATHON TODAY!!!!! YOU ROCK GIRLFRIEND!!

  5. Jill permalink
    February 23, 2011 6:22 pm

    Okay, I just made this cake for like the thousandth time since I saw this post. And I just had to post AGAIN how much I love it. I’m sending it to the 2nd grade teacher appreciation luncheon and I just love having such a great, easy dessert recipe to fall back on over and over. My kids are mad that they don’t get any. Love you Concierge Mom!

  6. morrowdiana permalink
    June 4, 2015 3:07 pm

    If you haven’t eaten one of Suzanne’s Poppy Seed Cakes you are missing out. Hers, I mean those baked by her personally, are far better than any time I’ve tried making them. Nom nom nom!!

Trackbacks

  1. Poppy Seed Cake - Dinners, Dishes, and Desserts

Leave a Reply

