Skip to content

sleepless over seattle

July 11, 2010

After many months of thinking, praying, and of course- not sleeping, we are moving to Seattle next month.  There are so many things to be excited about and at the same time, so many things to miss in Colorado.  I always marvel at the fact that you all seem to read this blog pretty regularly, but many of you do not leave a comment- even if you buy the product or make the recipe!! So, I am asking you to come out of hiding and leave a comment of something fabulous about Seattle.  Have you been?  Do you know someone who lives there? (please forward this post if you do!!)  Great places to see, eat? Please let me know any spots we shouldn’t miss.  It would help me keep my energy high as we look ahead at one crazy month of change!  Thanks.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Karma permalink
    July 11, 2010 8:02 pm

    Congrats! Big decision, but really exciting to have fun change in your near future. I’ve been to Seattle twice and absolutely loved it – so much to see and do, and being on the water is amazing. Best of luck with the move!

  2. Brian permalink
    July 11, 2010 9:19 pm

    Interesting…we have a few big customers there. The town is great. Have fun!
    Brian

  3. Leslie permalink
    July 12, 2010 7:05 am

    You will love it there! Definitely go to Pike’s Place Market, lake union for strolling/lunch (I will have to ask the family what the good restaurants are in the area now – lots of them), Woodinville for great wine tasting and good beer at Red Hook (also great bike riding if you are wanting to try a few of them at once). There is an awesome lodge for you and Tom to escape to – Salish Lodge near Snoqualmie falls…..so much. Call me!

    You should be proud of me – my first comment on your blog, even though I read it all the time 🙂

  4. Meredith permalink
    July 12, 2010 11:49 am

    Chad and I spent our three day “Mini-honeymoon” in Seattle and ate at several wonderful restaurants (our travels always revolve around food). Txori (tapas), Tilth (impeccable service, amazing food and adorable setting), Macrina Bakery, Salumi… I’ll forward more as I remember the names! Also, you should read the book, “A Homemade Life” by Molly Wizenberg. She’s a blogger who lives in Seattle and now owns a restaurant w/ her husband called Delancy. Good luck and see you soon!!

  5. Emily permalink
    July 12, 2010 11:59 am

    Congratulations on the move! I know it’s overwhelming, scary and completely exhausting, especially with two little ones.

    You will love Seattle. I can honestly say I’ve never met nicer people IN MY LIFE. Not kidding. When we first moved there I said to Peter “Is everyone freakishly nice, or is it just me?”

    It is beautiful, lush and offers SO much to do and see, especially for families. Seattle as a city is the coolest. Two words: FRESH SEAFOOD! So many wonderful suggestions….too many to name!
    A wonderful adventure awaits you!

  6. Alison permalink
    July 12, 2010 2:48 pm

    I just returned from a conference in Seattle and was completely in love with the city. Some notes for you: Ballard is such a fun area — definitely check it out. Wonderful farmers market, amazing cupcake bakery and a cute coffee bar/gift store called Sip and Ship. I am told that all of Tom Douglas’ restaurants are wonderful. I didn’t get to eat at any but here’s a link — if any are worth trying please let me know so I can go there on my next visit. http://tomdouglas.com/
    At Pike Place Market you will find beautiful bouquets of fresh flowers that are a steal at $10. In the market area you must also try the baked goods at Le Panier and the cheese at Beechers.
    Good luck with the move!

  7. Beth permalink
    July 12, 2010 7:14 pm

    I’m sure this is so exciting and overwhelming at the same time. What an adventure for your family!
    We threw Emily’s 30th birthday surprise party at a bar/restaurant called Ten on Mercer St. It was a favorite of theirs and also within walking distance of their old place. We also lived Pikes’s Place, of course. We got delicious salmon, beautiful flowers and amazing crepes at a little cafe (can’t remember the name – will ask Em).
    Em & Dan also went to Vancouver a lot – so many great places to discover in that area.
    Can’t wait to come visit!!!
    XOXOX

  8. Mandy Click permalink
    July 12, 2010 7:22 pm

    I am so excited about this new adventure for your family. I have never been to Seattle and you know the same two people I do who live there. So I am not much help for you. I did read today that Bellevue, Washington was the #4 best place to live. I have always wanted to visit Seattle, this will give me a good reason. I am also a fan of Molly Wizenberg. She has so many great things to say about Seattle. Looking forward to hearing all about it!

  9. Christina Lang permalink
    July 12, 2010 7:22 pm

    Have never been to Seattle, but have heard it’s a great place. Look forward to hearing your thoughts/blogs about the Pacific Northwest. If you make it to Forks, be sure to post pictures 🙂

  10. Maureen Garrelts permalink
    July 12, 2010 7:24 pm

    My aunt (who is in her 90s) lives in a Frank Lloyd Wright house in Seattle with 100 steps. Keeps her young:)

  11. Maureen Garrelts permalink
    July 12, 2010 7:28 pm

    Some of the best seafood I’ve had- in Seattle. Love the Public Market!

  12. Ali permalink
    July 12, 2010 8:05 pm

    I am so excited for the Bollings! I have never been to Seattle myself but know from a good source that this is a beautiful place to stay if you are doing any trips out there before you move or for visitors who aren’t staying at your house. Can’t wait to hear more!

    http://innatthemarket-px.trvlclick.com/

  13. July 12, 2010 8:53 pm

    Suzanne:

    How exciting! I have never been there but Doug has and really likes it. In fact , he mentioned us going there when we were on our recent trip to Montana. Keep me posted on the progress of the move. Wishing you, Tom and the boys – smooth sailing during the transition.

    Thinking of you!

    Jeannie

  14. Chris Bolling permalink
    July 12, 2010 10:20 pm

    I hear that they are all mean to children and old people in Seattle. I also heard that it’s a bit on the wet side compared to sunny Colorado. Don’t worry though… there’s no traffic compared to Fort Collins. Oh, then there’s the… Did I mention that I’ll miss you?

  15. Allison permalink
    July 13, 2010 7:38 am

    “Ditto” to Chris’ comment!!!!!!!!! It’s awful and you shouldn’t go!!!!!! But make sure your new house has a nice guestroom and that you are close to Nordstrom’s. 🙂

  16. heather burkhardt permalink
    July 13, 2010 7:39 am

    seattle is a beautiful and wonderful place to land! we used to live in portland, OR. and visited seattle and friends several times. all of the pacific northwest is incredible. what stands out to me from seattle is the usual places- market, art museum, needle , walking tour of downtown, but also the great neighborhoods, people, restaurants and church-mars hill. check it out!
    BTW, i am a friend of maureen wagner’s in dayton, oh. we hear of your sis, holly often and their global adventures…good stuff. looking forward to meeting you all some day! all the best to you and your family on your move and new beginnings..love the blog.

  17. Jill permalink
    July 18, 2010 1:54 pm

    Suzanne you will love it there!! You will definitely feel like you are really eating again after the culinary deprivation here in Fort Collins! We will miss you terribly, but hope that the Concierge Mom will live on with even more fabulous suggestions for us all mere mortals!! We love ya, and have fun with all the *excitement* (I’m putting a positive spin on it) of your move.

    Take care – we love your blog sister! Even if we don’t comment enough!

  18. theconciergemom permalink*
    July 18, 2010 2:30 pm

    Thank you EVERYONE!!! SO good to hear from you all!! I really really appreciate it!!

    Suzanne

  19. July 21, 2010 7:20 am

    Suzanne, congrats, that sounds great! I have never been, but my husband has for a few hours and loved it. Good luck with the move, I am sure you and your boys will do great.

    Cannot wait to hear about wonderful things there!

Leave a Reply

