Skip to content

lisbeth

October 7, 2010

So I was up until 1 am reading The Girl Who Played With Fire. I think I may have mentioned that it took me forever two tries to get into The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. But, I listened to you all and stuck with it.  Still, I didn’t love that first book in the trilogy.  HOWEVER, I am INTO this second book big time!!  I do not recommend reading these if your husband or dog is out of town, because I am huge scaredy cat and I don’t think you would sleep well. Just a guess on my part. Anyways, there is nothing better than a good book to look forward to. Are you reading anything good?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 5:04 pm

    Glad you got into them. I had a really hard time getting into the first one too. They are completely addicting though. The third is even better!
    I just read Jonathen Franzen’s Freedom and it was stellar. Really really fantastic. Next up is The Lonely Polygamist by Brady Udall.

  2. christina permalink
    October 7, 2010 7:27 pm

    The trilogy is fantastic! Once you finish them, you should rent the Swedish version of the first movie-so good. Just finished some chick-lit books-now going to dive into Zoo Story, a look behind the world of zoos and how they work. Also, Sh*t My Dad Says is hilarious–my husband said he couldn’t remember when I had laughed out loud that much while reading a book!

  3. Susie permalink
    October 7, 2010 7:52 pm

    I will read those someday…they are probably too good not to. Don’t laugh at me, but about 10 years ago my mom got me started on the Sue Grafton novels. She is the author whose books are titled after the alphabet, A is for Alibi and so on. To this day I still love to read those books, it may have something to do with my mom. It’s the same character in each novel and I love her! It’s been awhile since I read Sue and saw her latest sitting on the shelf at the library and I grabbed it! U is for Undertow, but if you are going to read start with A! It is great to read her in between some of these really great and all comsuming newer authors that are out right now…I also love the early Patricia Cornwell novels, again start from the beginnning. Jeez, I wish you would have asked this question when I was reading East of Eden, then I would’ve looked really cool…it is without question my all time favortite read, in fact I’m planning on reading it again this winter and I can’t wait!

  4. Erika Strote permalink
    October 7, 2010 8:22 pm

    I’m with you–took me a while to get into the first, then I put off starting the 2nd for a long time. Once I got going on it, though, I couldn’t stop and had to dive right into the 3rd. (I’ve got it if you want to borrow it…) If you like these you should try some Henning Mankel. I actually think his writing/plotting is more interesting than Larsson’s, but these have that fast, page-turning, pace that is fun. I’ve been eyeing Out Stealing Horses for a while, but am having a hard time finding the energy to read much more than the New Yorker right now!

  5. Beth permalink
    October 7, 2010 8:46 pm

    I loved that trilogy! The second in the series was by far the best, but all very good. I stayed up WAY too late reading “just one more chapter.” Now I’m reading another series. Starting with the first book – Conspiracy in Kiev. It’s good so far!

  6. October 10, 2010 8:40 pm

    I absolutley loved these and considered myself an addict. I read the first one in Europe and it seemed like I was going to bump into Lisbeth on one of the trains. It was great! My favorites were the 1st and 3rd and I was actually so sad when I finished the 3rd as I couldn’t grasp the fact I wouldn’t be able to read more! Here’s a question: who wanted Lisbeth and Michael to end up together?

    • Dave permalink
      June 29, 2011 2:48 am

      I think they probably would have in book ten if had ever been written … but we will never know!

  7. October 11, 2010 9:10 am

    One more thing: The swedish film versions of the book are the best book to film adaptations I’ve ever seen. I can’t believe they are remaking them in English. Typical Hollywood. The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest comes out here Oct. 29!

    I didn’t want Michael and Lisbeth to end up together. It wouldn’t work. I like him in her life though…

  8. Linda McBride permalink
    October 11, 2010 3:51 pm

    Good for you to stick with it. The first one is harder to get through then you are addicted.

  9. October 13, 2010 2:37 am

    Presently, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is my go-to book if I need to get bored/sleepy. In fact, I may reach for it now so I can get some sleep 😉

Leave a Reply

