Skip to content

almond crusted salmon with lemon leek cream sauce

November 2, 2010

Last night I pushed my comfort level a bit and made a bunch of recipes I have not made before. My husband always gently suggests I do not do this on nights when we are having company, but somehow those are the nights I am inspired!!  So, last night we had some good friends over and… all my recipes worked!!  I have been on a major fish tear ever since I took the cooking class last week, so last night I made Almond Crusted Salmon with Lemon Leek Cream Sauce. My friend Julie made this for us about 6 years ago in Chicago and I remember swooning over it.  Thankfully she shares recipes so here it is:

Sauce:

4 T butter

2 leeks

3T lemon juice

1 C. cream

Melt butter and saute leeks about 10 minutes. Add lemon juice and cream. Transfer to blender and mix until smooth. Can make one day ahead, just cover and refrigerate.

Salmon: I bought 4 individual fillets (about 2 lb for 4 people) and asked them to remove the skin and bones- which they did! (saves major time)

In processor, blend the following and put into a bowl:

1 C. almonds

1/4 C. parsley

1 T. grated lemon peel

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

Take salmon and dip in beaten egg and then in the mixture of almonds. Saute until opaque in center about 10 minutes before you are ready to eat. (Julie dips salmon in mixture before guests arrive and then has them ready to saute- I did this too as I do everything Julie does!).

Serve salmon hot and then put the leek sauce in a bowl to pour over.  You can heat the sauce up a bit in the microwave (if you made it earlier and have had it in refrigerator) or serve it at room temp (not cold).

I also made a Roasted Potato recipe I will share tomorrow and a salad with apples with homemade dressing.  Everything was EASY and much of it can be prepared ahead!  After typing this all out, I just found the recipe posted here– but I think it’s helpful to have my notes above so I am leaving them!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 2:39 pm

    Trying this next week! Thanks:)!

Leave a Reply

