Skip to content

shredded chicken crescent squares

December 17, 2010

I know everyone is super busy this time of year, but the truth is – we still need to figure out dinner!  My friend Stacey passed on this recipe she makes for 5 hungry boys at her house!  I forwarded it to one of my sisters who made it and gave it a big thumbs up- all her girls liked it.  Here it is:

Shredded Chicken Crescent Squares

 1-1.5 lbs. cooked shredded chicken breast

4 oz. light cream cheese

2 tbsp. butter

1/2 cup nonfat milk

1/2-1 can of Cream of Chicken soup

salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste

 2 pkgs of Pillsbury crescent rolls

 Optional: Butter and seasoned bread crumbs

Combine chicken breast, cream cheese, butter, milk, soup and seasonings.  Heat in large sauce pan on crock pot until all ingredients are hot and well blended.  While heating, open crescent rolls and seperate into rectangles (4 rectangles instead of 8 triangles). Gently knead the seam between the triangles together and then shape into a square.  Put a scoop of the chicken mixture into the center of the square.  Fold up the corners and seal the edges by pinching the seams together.  Where the 4 corners meet in the middle, gently twist to seal.  Optional: brush with melted butter and sprinkle with seasoned bread crumbs.. Bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes or until the crescents squares are evenly cooked.  

 PS. This is truly off the top of my head because I’ve been making it for decades…so my advice would be to taste it (since the chicken is cooked) and tweak to your own family’s taste. I make it based on the number of chicken breats I throw in (thus the rough estimates above) but like it to be ‘creamy’ but not runny.   It’s great to throw in the crock pot in the a.m., taste when you get home and add anything you need.

 Great kid friendly recipe.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susie permalink
    December 17, 2010 2:01 pm

    My mom used to make these…in fact this is what I always asked for when it was my birthday. The only difference is my mom used crunched up corn flakes instead of breadcrumbs. So yummy and thanks for the reminder. I need to pass this on to my kids! 🙂

Leave a Reply

