Skip to content

young and hungry

January 7, 2011

A couple of years ago, I started watching Dave Lieberman on The Food Network.  He had an interesting take on cooking- in that he was mainly cooking for himself and a couple of friends, or he was planning something simple like a  small party or picnic.  Anyway, he was casual in his approach to cooking and seemed like a nice Boston boy to learn from. 

Once a week, I take my boys to our amazing library.  It’s new and filled with only the most popular books in every category- so no searching through 1500 travel books when there are just 40 to choose from. It’s like being in a great book store.  I am getting off track…

Yesterday, I decided to flip through cookbooks while the boys were playing, and found Dave Lieberman’s Young & Hungry cookbook.  Today I made his Curried Couscous Salad with Dried Sweet Cranberries.  I made it with my 3 year old and we had a lot of fun- such an easy side dish to prepare and it makes a LOT. I read some of the reviews and there are some good ideas in there of variation ideas which I will try again next time although I like the dish as is. 

Speaking of couscous, I used 2 small boxes of couscous for this recipe, but usually I buy Israeli couscous (or pearls) at Whole Foods.  When we make plain couscous, we still are huge fans of Lake Shore Drive Seasoning- which you can read about here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    January 7, 2011 8:38 pm

    I’ll have to check out that cookbook, sounds great!

    I love me some couscous but may have OD’ed on it over the past few years. Have you tried quinoa? It’s a great texture, has protein in it, and can be prepared every way couscous can. I even put it in split pea soup the other day. Nice to help mix up the grain-side options, although officially I think it’s not a grain. Anyway, I love the Isreali couscous too. Trader Joe’s has a great mixed grains pouch with all different textures that we’re in the process of OD’ing on.

  2. Staci Clark permalink
    January 8, 2011 10:33 am

    So- wanted to post that my whole family LOVED this cous cous, Audrey even made up a song about it:) Anytime you make too much again we will gladly partake, thanks again for sharing Suzanne and Lukey! Actually, I will definitely be making this one!

Leave a Reply

