Skip to content

raising responsible kids

January 8, 2011

Up until now, my kids have very few responsibilites around our house. I have often wished for Super Nanny to arrive at my house and tell me when it’s appropriate to start having the kids do chores, pay allowance, teach important life lessons, have certain conversations… yep-  that would be helpful.  As no one has rang my doorbell yet, I depend on other friends to give me good ideas. I have been keeping this post from Let’s Explore (I guess this really is one of my favorite sites since I keep on referencing it!) and have decided it’s time to implement.  Tonight my husband and I will be creating our list of what our guys can do and then… I will be starting a new system in our house. Crossing my fingers I can maintain this as I am usually at fault for starting a rewards system and then forgetting to add stickers!

What chores are your kids responsible for? Do you have a system, chart, ?? to stay on task?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy permalink
    January 8, 2011 8:52 pm

    Back when I was growing up, all four of us kids helped clean up after dinner. There was a feeling of all for one and one for all – of being an important part of the family… not to mention some sweet conversations that might have been missed. We got a dishwasher somewhere into my middle school years which made the job a lot quicker, but the days of washing and drying dishes together after dinner are part of my sweet growing up memories.

  2. January 9, 2011 12:26 pm

    You will have to let me know how it goes! I agree with Nancy’s comment – we are truly enjoying each other’s company during this time and the cleaning that gets done is just a bonus… 🙂

    It took us about a month to really get into a groove, and now it’s just a part of our day. Good luck!

  3. Kristy permalink
    January 9, 2011 1:39 pm

    My 4 year old daughter loves to help with laundry and in the kitchen. Sorting colors is always a hit and she can help load the washer and move clothes from the washer into the dryer. In the kitchen she wipes down the table, washes odd shaped dishes, helps load and unload the dishwasher (I handle any heavy or sharp things). She loves cleaning mirrors or windows and helps with shoveling, feeding the dog, giving the dog her medicine, things like that. Luckily she is at an age where she loves helping, so I am trying to enjoy it while I can!

  4. Heather permalink
    January 9, 2011 2:30 pm

    Sofia (our 6 year old) clears the table after meals. It started slowly with doing things that she could because of her reach – couldn’t put plates on the counter a couple of years ago so she would throw napkins away or we would follow her with her dish and put it on the counter for her. Now she is able to carry dishes and put them on the counter – so she clears the plates from the table. She is also responsible for basic pick up in her room – putting dirty clothes in the hamper (or camper as she calls it) and picking up toys. Whenever I do a major cleaning of her room, I make sure she is in there helping. She also loves to help with the dog – feeding & walking. About every 6 months I add little more to the list.

Leave a Reply

