Skip to content

favorite meals

January 13, 2011

Where is your favorite restaurant? Or, if that’s too hard to think about, tell me where you have had one of your favorite meals. My friend Hunter just told me that one of her best meals ever was in Rome-  She wrote “Osteria Al Bric is my favorite favorite favorite restaurant in all the cities i’ve visited”.  This got me thinking of some of my favorite meals… here are some of my top spots:

Hacienda San Angel– Puerta Vallarta, Mexico

Nob Hill Cafe– San Francisco, CA

Dusty’s Wine Cellar– East Lansing, MI

and other friends chimed in:

Maureen’s picks:

Frontera Grill– Chicago
Zuni Cafe– San Francisco- (Maureen! I agree with you- we ate here together I think!!)
Union Square Cafe– NYC
Chaya Venice– LA
Chez Panisse– Berkeley, CA
Bavarian Inn– Frankenmuth, MI

And for a special occasion like a 10 year anniversary- Charlie Trotters in Chicago.

My sister Wendy wrote:

I love The Cottage in La Jolla! For its quaintness and delicious food.

And Allison wrote:

Patagonia Steakhouse and The Shrimp House (not the big touristy one–this one is a hole in the wall-almost literally-verify which by ordering a ‘bulldog’) in Cabo

Brennan’s (for brunch) in Houston

Javier’s for true Mexican (not Tex-mex) in Dallas

Galatoire’s in New Orleans

Would love to hear places you enjoy! Please leave a quick comment.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. bridgette permalink
    January 13, 2011 10:16 pm

    I went into labor with Evan while eating the chicken and bread salad at Zuni Cafe. YUMMMMMMM! Stuck around to get the warm chocolate cake and then I drove home in full labor (crazy!).

    Favorite dinner of all time was at the Chevre D’Or in Eze, France.
    http://www.chevredor.com/uk/index.php#index.php

    In San Francisco, I still love Slanted Door, even if it is all modern now.
    http://slanteddoor.com/

    (why does this picture of me always appear with my posts? … odd)

  2. Susie permalink
    January 13, 2011 10:49 pm

    Postino Winebar-Phoenix

    Avanti-Dallas

    Vesta Dipping Grill-Denver

    Master Joe’s Sushi-Fairhope, AL

    King Estate Winery-Eugene, OR

    This was fun to think about! Now I’m hungry! ~S

  3. Heather permalink
    January 14, 2011 12:56 am

    Haile Maile General Store – Maui, HI

    Commander’s Palace – New Orleans

    Graziano’s – Petaluma, CA

    Jenny Low’s – Novato, CA

  4. January 14, 2011 8:16 am

    Well I have to say Girl and the Goat- Chicago, IL- not only is it amazing it is my cousins new venture after winning top chef
    Anything Stephen Starr does in Philadelphia- service, food, atmosphere always amazing…
    Asolare- St. John
    Wagamama’s- Boston and England

  5. Maureen Sullian Garrelts permalink
    January 14, 2011 4:00 pm

    Love Nob Hill Cafe, Suz! Lots of great memories there.

  6. Staci permalink
    January 14, 2011 5:02 pm

    Cassanova in Carmel, CA
    Sadies in Albuquerque (best New Mexican style Mexican food)
    Sassafras Southern Bistro Greenville, SC

  7. Christina Lang permalink
    January 15, 2011 10:02 am

    Best meal we had in NYC-Rachel’s on 8th or 9th avenue!

    For TexMex in Houston and other cities in Texas-Pappasitos (we had our rehearsal dinner there!)

    For South American fare in Houston-Churrasco’s or Americas–best tres leches cake ever!

Leave a Reply

