Skip to content

the hunger games

February 5, 2011

Who else is reading The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins?  I keep hearing about it so I picked it up to read this week.  This is not a book I would normally be drawn to- but I will give it a shot!  Any other recommendations?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Staci permalink
    February 5, 2011 7:32 pm

    So, I am totally reading something out of my “comfort zone” as well. I heard a compelling interview on National Public Radio with Jay-Z on his book “Decoded”(before it made Oprah’s favorite things list). Anyway, it is interesting and gives meaning to so many of the lyrics in rap/ hip-hop that was just meaningless verbage before I understood where it came from……

  2. Karma permalink
    February 5, 2011 7:55 pm

    Love The Hunger Games Trilogy – read it before hearing a lot of hype and literally couldn’t put down book 1, 2, or 3! But I do love the YA sci-fi stuff, so it was right up my alley : ) Looking forward to hearing what you think!

  3. Amy permalink
    February 6, 2011 10:46 am

    I loved the trilogy too! I have a thing for YA, but these seem to be intriguing even for people who don’t typically get into young adult books. 🙂

    Just read “Talking to Girls about Duran Duran” (nonfiction) and liked it a lot, and am going to read Keith Richards’ autobiography and “Room” by Emma Donoghue next.

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      February 15, 2011 2:20 pm

      Amy,
      Room is haunting. I hope you have the stomach for it. I still think about it and read it in November!

  4. Meredith permalink
    February 7, 2011 10:26 am

    Ha ha… I actually put one of these books on hold at the library by accident. I got Catching Fire, but wanted Catching Fire: How Cooking Made Us Human. Was going to read it anyway, but then realized it was part of a series and not the first book. Let me know if it is worth picking up again!

Leave a Reply

