Skip to content

catching fire and other updates

February 15, 2011

 Just finished Book 2 of Suzanne Collins’ trilogy, The Hunger Games.  I wrote that sci-fi is NOT my thing, but I am loving this series. I began The Hunger Games last Friday night at 10 pm and finished it in 4 hours.  I could not stop reading.  So, on Sunday I downloaded Catching Fire and finished that one last night.  All ready with Mockingjay for tonight!

Also, I made the peppermint patties and followed all of the reader suggestions.  Still, my peppermints looked amazing in the heart molds, but TERRIBLE when I dipped them in the chocolate!  They lost all form and I even lost a few of them in the chocolate!  I am no pastry chef, but still not sure where I went wrong?  If you make them, please tell me what worked for you.  They tasted wonderful, but boy were they ugly!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori permalink
    February 15, 2011 2:19 pm

    I too am racing my way through this series. Mockingjay is interesting. I have about 50 pages to go. I’m curious to how the author will wrap it all up. Have you seen that they are making a movie out of The Hunger Games. I’m trying to decide who would be a good Katniss and Peeta. I think it will make an excellent movie.

  2. theconciergemom permalink*
    February 15, 2011 2:32 pm

    Hi Lori,
    As I have been reading, all I could think about was the future movie. It would be so interesting. Would love to know who is playing the parts-!

    Suzanne

  3. Jill permalink
    February 15, 2011 2:40 pm

    Glad I recommended the book to you….*wink*wink

  4. Jill T permalink
    February 15, 2011 2:44 pm

    Suz,

    I am almost finished with my current book. I almost almost downloaded the first one based on your comments on them..if you are sure.. I am not at all a sci-fi fan…if you are sure you are sure.. I’ll give it a try..would this count as doing something I woudn’t normally do??

    • Jill permalink
      February 16, 2011 5:41 am

      Jill- you will love them. 🙂

  5. Jill T permalink
    February 15, 2011 2:46 pm

    Also..I will try the patties for St. Patti’s day green is Cara’s favorite color, now question did you FREEZE them in the molds? I will figure this out… and let you know..

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      February 16, 2011 8:44 am

      I did freeze the molds for about 3 hours. but they weren’t hard when I dipped them- maybe I should have frozen them for longer? try that route.

      Suzanne

Leave a Reply

