Skip to content

the hose

March 23, 2011

Thanks for your emails about my trip! A couple of people have asked for more tips, so while it’s fresh in my mind, I thought I would add them.  First, when I mentioned I bought the boys raincoats, I should add that I bought them in a light orange- this was great to be able to find them fast in a sea of black coats!  On the suggestion of my friend Kim K, I also added our hotel business card- with the address-  to their jackets (zipped in) with our cell phone in case of emergency.  The boys also had their Road id’s velcroed to their shoes.  One thing I wish I had brought was my hairdryer!! My friend Jill and I had the worst string of bad hair days over there. The hotels basically provide a hose attached to a wall that sneezes warm air on you from time to time. It’s amazing how much good hair can mean to you! Especially when you are hoping you land a family holiday card out of the trip!

I found a lot of benefit to having access to the internet for looking up museum times, places, etc. and I thank the heavens above for Jill’s Garmin GPS that helped us through Tuscany. Having said that about the internet, wifi was unheard of for us in Tuscany, so I am really glad we had our travel guides with us to make last minute changes to our plan.  As adults, we loved playing Scrabble on Jill’s ipad at night while drinking wine!

For long airplane rides, I thank our new itouch and my iphone loaded with new videos and games that my boys loved. And our Klutz books came in handy as well as some Usborne sticker books for Pirates and Romans that Jill gifted us on the trip. (her girls had cute ones with fairies and dancers!)

Thanks for reading and I promise to get back to posting the “usual stuff” this week!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill T permalink
    March 23, 2011 6:29 am

    So glad everything worked our perfect for your trip! Brought back tons of memories from our Honeymoon! We love Roma!! The pics looked amazing!! Welcome Home!

  2. Allison permalink
    March 23, 2011 7:23 am

    Really like the road id idea… All our “kids” are old enough to go without them for our trip except my Will, and although he knows his info, lost in a foreign country could cause panic memory-loss, so probably a good idea to put one on him!

  3. Kathy permalink
    March 23, 2011 2:39 pm

    We are heading to Italy with our 11 and 13 year old in June. Haven’t mapped out a plan yet would love any recommendations you might have!

  4. Coleen permalink
    March 23, 2011 7:05 pm

    I LOVED your photo! What a fabulous looking family!
    You mentioned the boy’s jackets, but what about yours? So cute.
    Is it this years’s Patagonia? I checked the website and their jacket looked almost neon green.

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      March 23, 2011 8:48 pm

      Hi Coleen!

      Thanks for your note. I love my jacket too- but it’s last years or the year before. I looked for you but I can’t find the color- it is called their Rainshadow jacket if that helps.

      I am colorblind but mine is a minty green – not bright like you said.

      Thanks!
      Suzanne

Leave a Reply

