Skip to content

board games

April 17, 2011

What board games are your favorite’s to play with your kids?  As in, actually enjoy. We are still enjoying Blokus, Mexican Train, Blink and Battleship.  My sister W told me she likes Sorry and that is on my list.  One of my favorite games growing up was Stratego– and I have just ordered it although the write up describes it as having changed a bit.  But the easter bunny is curious for other ideas- so please let me know!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    April 17, 2011 6:04 pm

    We like Qwirkle, Guess Who, Curious George Discovery Beach, and Balloon Lagoon. We just got Shut the Box for H’s 5th birthday, so will let you know on that one. Came highly recommended and he loves numbers and math, so we’ll see.

    I used to LOVE Mastermind. And Boggle–so was thinking of Boggle Jr. sometime soon.

    I”ve been saving ideas for games (can you tell??). Have you ever played SET? A woman in a toy store once told me she and her 5 kids love to play and I keep thinking I should check into it. I’ve also heard recs for Skip Bo, Sequence (or Sequence Jr.?), Rivers, Roads, and Rails, ThinkFun Rush Hour Jr., River Crossing Jr., and Pictureka, but not sure of the ages on them.

  2. Beth Huzjak permalink
    April 17, 2011 8:25 pm

    We like Kids On Stage which is a charades type game. (good for all ages, and funny too!) Sum Swamp (Made by Learning Express, I think) is good for early math skills. I agree with Wendy on Sorry!, and of course, Uno.

  3. Staci permalink
    April 17, 2011 8:29 pm

    I love to play Sorry and Guess Who? with Maddie (7 yrs.).
    Audrey (3 1/2 yrs.) loves Hi Ho Cherry O.

  4. Jenn permalink
    April 19, 2011 12:42 pm

    Stare (Junior) is my kids favorite along with Farkle – another surprise hit this past Christmas. They also enjoy playing Sequence (for kids) and Spoons card game.

  5. Amy permalink
    April 19, 2011 2:18 pm

    Side question: why is it so hard to find classic Battleship? Does anyone have a version they like? Lots of bad reviews on Amazon.

  6. theconciergemom permalink*
    April 19, 2011 6:57 pm

    Amy,

    I couldn’t find the classic battleship either, but the link I put on here is the one we have and it’s very similar. I don’t think you will be disappointed.

    Suzanne

Leave a Reply

