Skip to content

summer reads

May 30, 2011

You have all  been so quiet – you meaning those of you who read this blog!! I know we have all been busy in May, so I understand.  But, now I am asking for your summer reading suggestions and I am hoping to hear from as many of you who will take a minute and leave a comment!  I just finished The Swan House which I have to say wasn’t a great read for me, but I still saw it through.  Just seemed really predictable and all loose ends tied up perfectly in the end.  On the other hand, I have started Clara and Mr. Tiffany and really like it. Also on my waiting list at the library are: Long Drive Home by Will Allison, Dreams of Joy by Lisa See, and Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe.

Okay, now it’s your turn. What great books have you recently read or plan to read this summer?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2011 10:07 pm

    currently reading: A Canticle For Leibowitz by Walter J. Miller (three cheers for book clubs that introduce me to things I might never read!)
    and Raising Freethinkers

    enjoyable recent reads: One Day by David Nicholls (they’re making it into a movie with Anne Hathaway – quick, fun read) and Freedom by Jonathan Franzen (LOVED)

    On my nightstand to read ASAP:
    Just Kids – Patti Smith
    A Visit From the Goon Squad – Jennifer Egan
    Lit – Mary Karr

    There is much buzz about The Hunger Games series. Young Adult fiction, like Twilight. Hm…debating looking into it. And I think I’ll have to buy Tina Fey’s Bossypants. The library wait is just too damn long!

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      June 2, 2011 9:53 pm

      Thanks Emily! This is a great list- the only one I have read is the Hunger Game Series- loved it even though I never thought I would like sci-fi. I am sure you have heard, but most people prefer the 1st and 2nd book in that series and not the 3rd so much. I fell into the same category!

      Suzanne

  2. Jeannie permalink
    May 31, 2011 8:00 am

    Just finished Rob Lowe book … easy read and interesting to hear anecdotes regarding the young stars of my/our time – gives you a glimpse into how quickly lives can change for people in Hollywood and how today it must even be more challenging with technology, instant messaging, tabloids, etc.

  3. Hadley Bay permalink
    May 31, 2011 5:09 pm

    We just read Unwind for our book club. http://www.amazon.com/Unwind-Neal-Shusterman/dp/1416912053/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1306883282&sr=8-1

    Kind of a step beyond the hunger games and even those that didn’t vote for it, ended up really liking the book.

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      June 2, 2011 9:53 pm

      I will trust you on this Hadley! Never thought I would like Hunger Games so my mind is open. Thanks!

      Suzanne

  4. Amy permalink
    May 31, 2011 5:54 pm

    Recent reads: Room was interesting. I admit to reading all 7 (?) of the Diana Gabaldon historical fiction books, drawing them out over 9 months or so, and being totally hooked. Just finished the most recent one. Am now reading Game of Thrones but it isn’t as much of an obsession for me. 🙂

    Some nonfiction I’ve liked fairly recently: Blood, Bones, and Butter was really good from a chef/author; The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin was great; Talking to Girls About Duran Duran by Rob Sheffield made me laugh a bunch; and Unbroken was AMAZING and read like fiction, by Laura Hillenbrand.

    On the list for:
    Bossypants, Tina Fey
    Children and Fire, Ursula Hegi (loved Stones from the River and Floating in My Mother’s Palm)
    Gang Leader for a Day, Sudhir Alladi Venkatesh
    In the Garden of Beasts : Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin, Erik Larson (Devil in the White City author)
    Please Look After Mom, Kyŏng-suk Sin
    She-Wolves : the Women Who Ruled England before Elizabeth, Helen Castor
    State of Wonder, Ann Patchett
    The Story of Beautiful Girl, Rachel Simon

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      June 2, 2011 9:49 pm

      Amy,

      I am all over the Erik Larson book!! I think I am first on the hold list at our library for it. Devil in the White City was one of my favorite books ever- mainly for the history of the Columbian Expo – not for the murder part!

      S

  5. Amy permalink
    May 31, 2011 5:56 pm

    And I also have Keith Richards’ autobiography and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, both of which I want to finally get around to reading sometime soon.

    I had high hopes for The Wilder Life: My Adventures in the Lost World of Little House on the Prairie, which I’m reading now, but it’s flagging a little 3/4 of the way through. Probably shouldn’t have been a surprise. The early parts were wonderful.

  6. Staci permalink
    May 31, 2011 8:39 pm

    I just read the Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls and LOVED every minute of it. I am currently reading Water for Elephants and it is good but it took a while for me to get into it. I also recently read the Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins and really liked those as well: The next book in line for me is Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand.

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      June 2, 2011 9:51 pm

      Staci- Glass Castle is an all time favorite for me- I also liked Half -Broke Horses which is another by Jeannette Walls. She is an awesome writer!!

      Suzanne

  7. Meredith permalink
    May 31, 2011 11:08 pm

    Just started “Fall of Giants” by Ken Follet. His two other historical fiction books are favorites, and I’m really enjoying this new one so far. Other recent reads…

    “Room” by Emma Donaghue;

    “Medium Raw” by Anthony Bourdain;

    “Eating Animals” by Jonathan Safran Foer. Difficult for me to read at times, but if you eat meat, please read this book. I am far from a vegan or even vegetarian, and I think the author makes it clear that although he has chosen a vegetarian diet, he is not condoning those who eat meat, he just wants you to become a conscientious consumer. This book has seriously made me rethink my love of bacon and all things that come from cows, pigs, poultry etc. I will only buy meat and dairy from smaller, local farms now. Harder to find, yes. More expensive, sure. This just means we are eating less animal products, which is just fine.

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      June 2, 2011 9:50 pm

      “Room” still haunts me although I am glad I read it. What an amazing book.

      I will check out your other suggestions Mere! Thanks-

      Suzanne

  8. theconciergemom permalink*
    June 2, 2011 9:46 pm

    Thank you to all of you! Have so many great new books on my “list”. really appreciate your comments! Suzanne

Leave a Reply

