Skip to content

firecracker cake

June 25, 2011

You know me and how I like to mix colored batter! My friend Amy sent me this link to the Betty Crocker Firecracker cake  and I am going to give it a  go for sure!  It looks more forgiving than a true rainbow cake which has to be more exact- this could look like messy fireworks if things head that way. Are you making anything red, white and blue for the 4th?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda McBride permalink
    June 25, 2011 10:08 pm

    Looks so good–just right for the celebration
    !

  2. Coleen permalink
    June 26, 2011 11:16 am

    Happy 4th! I am teaching summer school for 3 year olds with special needs. We will be “cooking” 4th of July Sparklers. Melt white chocolate in the mocrowave. Dip pretzel sticks into the melted chocolate about 3/4 of the way down. I use the small 3 inch sticks, but you can use pretzel rods too. Shake red and blue sprinkles in top. Let the chocolate harden and enjoy. These sparklers are safe and tasty!

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      June 27, 2011 7:44 am

      Hi Coleen!! This is such a great reminder- I love doing chocolate dipped pretzel rods for the holidays. I haven’t tried it with the shorter sticks but that would be even easier for my 3 year old. Super cute idea! happy 4th!
      Suzanne

  3. Staci permalink
    June 26, 2011 10:45 pm

    Wow! I think the kids and I may need to make this next week!!!! In the past, I have done the “cookie pizza” thing in a rectangular pan. Spread cream cheese mixed with whipped cream on large cookie and then used strawberries for the stripes and blueberries for the stars. It is super easy and a crowd pleaser:-)

    • Lora permalink
      June 29, 2011 3:57 am

      This cake looks fun to make! We may do a pound cake with fresh whipped cream, and blueberries and strawberries/raspberries. Layer the crumbled pound cake with cream and them berries. Make two layers in a glass bowl so you can see the different colors. Also very easy and yummy.

Leave a Reply

