Skip to content

stories I only tell my friends

July 8, 2011

I am reading Rob Lowe’s recent book, Stories I Only Tell My Friends, and there are some interesting parts. Right now I am heavy into the taping of The Outsiders which is a movie I saw when I was young and still remember. What a star cast!  Anyways, I like that Rob Lowe is very complimentary of his wife  and talks about how important he feels it is to be involved in his two boys’ lives. He writes about the distance he felt between his father after his parent’s divorce and this part of the book I earmarked to read to my husband as I thought it was a great reminder how our kids learn from all the little things in our daily actions.

“There are many other lessons that teenage boys need to learn. And most of these can’t be taught over pizza at midnight or on the tennis court. I only know this now because I see it with my own teen sons. They don’t really listen to speeches or talks. They absorb incrementally, through hours and hours of observation. The sad truth about divorce is that it’s hard to teach your kids about life unless you are living life with them: eating together, doing homework, watching Little League, driving them around endlessly, being bored with nothing to do, letting them listen when you do business, while you negotiate love and the frustrations and complications and the rewards of living day in and out with your wife. Through this, they see how adults handle responsibility, honesty, commitment, jealousy, anger, professional pressures, and social interactions. Kids learn from whoever is around them the most.”

The more I think about this, even if there is no divorce, you really have to choose what you are focused on in life. Because we all know people who are still married but that one or both of the parents chooses not to do these things with their kids, even though the opportunity is there. I think it’s true that we all find ourselves trying to teach a big lesson to our kids only to be met with a blank stare or a totally unrelated question after we finish speaking.  It’s the smaller moments that our children observe us, learn from us, and all those small moments matter.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    July 8, 2011 3:40 pm

    Very true

  2. Wendy permalink
    July 8, 2011 5:00 pm

    Best post yet!
    xo

  3. Nancy permalink
    July 8, 2011 8:08 pm

    I love this, Suzanne. And from a vantage point of having already raised my kids, it’s all true.

  4. Amy permalink
    July 8, 2011 8:08 pm

    Love that quote and the thoughts behind it!

    A couple of friends and I were recently wondering *why* we were considering reading this book and I just sent them a link to your blog with the tip that based on your blog entry, there seems to be enough substance in the book to warrant extending the 25-year-long Rob Lowe fascination. So thanks for legitimizing my desire to read this! 😀

  5. Mandy permalink
    July 8, 2011 8:23 pm

    Suzanne, I loved reading this book too. Not only is Rob Lowe a sex symbol but he is also an amazing husband and father. This is a great summer read if you are looking for a good book.

  6. Katie Comstock permalink
    July 9, 2011 6:23 am

    Suz, great entry! Good reminder for all and makes me want to pick up lowe’s book- and tune into Outsiders! 😉

  7. Allison permalink
    July 10, 2011 8:43 am

    Love this post, and who knew Rob Lowe was so perceptive! Having a teenager now, I believe his words more than ever to be true…

  8. Heather permalink
    July 11, 2011 7:03 am

    Suz….I love this post! So very true!

Leave a Reply

