Skip to content

yummy desserts

January 4, 2012

First things first- Happy New Year!  I have thought a bunch about my blog but I never make it to the computer these days! I hope you all had wonderful holidays.  

I know most of us are swearing off desserts for awhile, but when you come back to them- here’s a post of some yummy things to make. A friend and neighbor of mine dropped off an amazing meal for us followed by Gina’s Pear and Apple Cobbler. I confess I almost ate half of it myself before my husband got home.

My sister just made these Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints and said they are “blog-worthy!” and would be cute for Valentine’s Day.  

Finally, I have been whipping up a recipe from my grandmother’s box- Meringue Cookies with Chocolate Chips and they are amazing. Here is the recipe:

Makes about 3 dozen or less

2 egg whites

3/4 C. sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1 6 oz. bag of chocolate chips

1 C. chopped pecans (optional, I leave them out)

Preheat oven to 350. Beat egg whites until stiff. Add sugar gradually. Beat on high speed for 5 minutes. Fold in vanilla, chocolate bits and pecans. Drop from tsp. onto foil-lined cookie sheet. Put in oven and turn the oven OFF. Leave for at least an hour to overnight. I prefer one hour and then the chocolate chips stay soft.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

