Skip to content

citizens of the world

February 8, 2012

I love the tagline from the Tea Collection clothing line – “for little citizens of the world”. It is so important to me to have our kids understand what a big world we live in- I really hope they love to travel and learn about other cultures.

Recently, the boys have been given two great gifts that help them learn about other states and countries. Thought I would pass them on! First, my in-laws gave them a book for collecting quarters from the 50 United States. I had no idea that this would be such a great teaching tool and I love hearing them learn new state names. Months ago, we asked the boys how many states they could name and I think they named 13? We will have to do it again now that they are checking quarters whenever we get them to see if they can find missing ones for their collections. You can buy one of these books at your local coin store.

Second, I saw Little Passports written up at Pioneer Woman and could not type fast enough to read more. The boys great-grandparents gave them a subscription to give it a try. I am excited about doing this with them! Their “suitcases and passports” arrived and we have had so much fun doing the worksheets and learning about certain countries.

Do you have games or online tools that you share with your children that help them appreciate how big our world is? I would love to hear.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

