Skip to content

women and money

September 8, 2012

I can only speak for myself here- but the most recent article Women and Money in Real Simple Magazine, arrived at the perfect time. I completely agree that I can focus so much time on saving $1.50 on diapers at the grocery store, but ignore our day-to-day spending and I’m the primary spender in this house. When’s the last time you paid attention to your finances? Do you have a good system? My husband always includes me in lots of discussions about our savings, portfolios, etc., but I honestly half listen.I made a committment earlier this summer to start reading about the stock market and people’s opinions about financial matters. I also have been logging in to our credit card bills and paying more attention to where our money is being spent. I am just beginning to get my feet in the water, but it feels good.

I would love to hear from any of you about this- thanks!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2012 7:30 am

    Thanks for bringing this to our attention. It’s a great subject! I think one of the most important things we can teach our children is how to manage money. There are some great little books out there about allowances and saving/spending money for kids. I know it’s one more thing to add to your already busy week, but it’s such a valuable lesson to pass onto the next generation. Having money in the bank is such a great reward for hard work and kids realize that once they want to purchase an expensive item such as a DS or iPod. I have a friend who has created a process for her 3 boys where they keep some money in the bank, spend some and donate some to the charity of their choice. I love this way of thinking. The middle son donated his money 2 years ago to St. Baldrick’s Foundation when the eldest brother shaved his head fighting to help kids with cancer. http://www.stbaldricks.org/

  2. September 13, 2012 7:44 pm

    What a great blog! And a great topic. I created Women & Money magazine, an online personal finance magazine to help teach women everything there is to know in an easy, accessible way (I hope! That’s my goal). Even if we’re in the happiest and healthiest of marriages, it’s so important that we’re financially ready for anything. I have the perfect article for you: http://bit.ly/R0SsWb, at least to get your feet wet. It’s 10 things to do now if you’re financially dependent on your spouse, which includes so many stay-at-home moms in America. Hope it helps! All the best to you! -Robyn

Leave a Reply

