Skip to content

trying new recipes

October 7, 2012

This past week, I was inspired. I tried three new recipes in 3 nights, which could be a record for me! The best part of it all, they were all simple and everyone liked them!

Monday- Giada’s Salmon Baked in Foil– I thought this was restaurant quality! My house smelled amazing. I liked it best, and the kids were okay with it. Next time I would not use canned tomatoes (I would use fresh), and I would be sure my salmon was skin-free. I had to cut the skin off and it was one step I would skip next time! I served Seeds of Change Quinoa and Whole Grain Brown Rice as a side dish which my whole family likes and a salad.

Tuesday- Simple Bolognese– I served this over rigatoni noodles and my kids both liked it! Score. Oh, and so did my husband = no leftovers.

Wednesday- Tacos al Carbon– I really enjoyed this dish, but I changed it because I was running short on time. I marinated my flank steak in Sue Jackson’s Marinade (a go-to here) and didn’t pre-cut it. I did the red bell peper and onions, plus added the cilantro. I am the only one in my house who likes sour cream (seroiusly) so I had added it to mine. I wrapped them in whole wheat tortillas and microwaved a packet of Old El Paso Mexican Rice. Done.

Thank goodness my son’s birthday was Thursday night so we went OUT (maybe I suggested we eat out…) and I took a break! Would love to hear what you are cooking lately.  Any new recipes or old standby’s you can link to in comments?  Thanks!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Margaret permalink
    October 7, 2012 3:41 pm

    The Bolognes is a staple in our house, I love that salmon (I agree about the skin), but now I have to try the tacos too. Now I have a new recipe to add to my list. Love it.

  2. Heather permalink
    October 8, 2012 7:00 am

    Thank you! Once soccer craziness calms down – I’ll be ready to try one of these. They look great!

  3. Linda permalink
    October 8, 2012 9:54 am

    Thanks for sharing these recipes I will try some soon–

  4. ali permalink
    October 9, 2012 7:40 pm

    We are in a big salmon phase over here so def trying that one. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

