Skip to content

the gift of an ordinary day

April 12, 2013

babyMany of you know my daughter is at the heighth of separation anxiety with me. She’s 16 months and sometimes it feels like her bedtime cannot come soon enough.  Often I wonder how long this can last as it not only drives me crazy, but seems to make others crazy as well.

To really illustrate how much I am losing my mind- I will tell you this. My friend Sarit sent me a video last night and I watched it with a faint recollection of hearing it before. I thought  “I should post this!” and then I decided to search my blog  just in case I had!! Good thing I did- here is my post of the video from 2010. Grab a kleenex.  I can imagine this hitting home with mothers at any age.

The gift of an Ordinary Day

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Madelyn Backhaus permalink
    April 18, 2013 10:35 am

    Wow – loved it! Thanks for sharing. John had a terrible case of separation anxiety. For the entire first year I was about the only one he’d go to – a big part of that was b/c he refused the bottle (except from the nanny, thankfully). At about two he discovered that daddy is fun and Grandparents spoiled him. I’d say at about 3 1/2 to 4 he finally let go somewhat. Now he claims to be daddy’s boy most of the year b/c Greg takes him fishing and throws the football to him (better than I can :)). Boy how things have changed. Atleast he’s still a big snuggler!

    Date: Fri, 12 Apr 2013 23:39:41 +0000 To: gregandmadelyn@msn.com

  2. ali permalink
    April 26, 2013 10:28 am

    Everyone needs to see this. Such an emotional reminder.

Leave a Reply

