Skip to content

random acts

November 20, 2013

ImageSaw this quote on Pinterest today- “You have never really have lived until you do something for someone who can never repay you.” It resonates with me.

Every holiday season I try and find something that I can do with my kids for them to see other’s needs. It can honestly be difficult to get them to see a bigger picture if it’s not in front of them. We have dropped off donations, given money to Salvation Army volunteers who stand outside our grocery store, shopped for kids who needed clothes and presents for the holidays, donated food, etc… but I can always tell that they still aren’t connecting with it in the way I hoped.

I stumbled upon a story in September of a random act of kindness and I still think of it with happiness. It makes perfect sense for me to ask my boys to look for ways for us to practice random acts of kindness.  I am going to give them some ideas I have- like write a note to someone they love, invite a new friend to play from school, buy someone their next Starbucks order, etc.  I know my boys will love this and I am so excited to hear what THEY think up.

I am off to look for a printable (or make one) for them to include when they do something nice for someone. Something tangible that they can carry to remind them to think of others.

Happy November.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Margaret permalink
    November 20, 2013 3:01 pm

    Being one of the lucky people who has received a random act of kindness, I can attest that it really makes a difference. Your heart is so big!! #luckytobeyourfriend

  2. Nancy permalink
    November 20, 2013 7:23 pm

    I love this post! It reminds me of how life should be like every day. I’ll be looking for ways to make a difference too!

  3. Stacey permalink
    November 27, 2013 1:03 pm

    One of our favorite holiday traditions is to take the boys out to dinner at a restaurant of their choice. We people watch a bit during dinner and then the boys decide on a family. We pick up their tab anonymously. The boys love watching their reaction when the waiter/waitress tells them. It has really become such a joyful tradition for our family.

Leave a Reply

