Skip to content

feeling like spring

April 8, 2014

ImageI think the whole US is enjoying the beginning of spring right now! We are having a beautiful week of temps in the 70’s. It is back to grilling more often and thinking of outside spaces.

I made this Killer Quinoa Salad this week and even without the green onions and apricots, (I did not have any on hand) I thought this recipe was easy and delicious.  I didn’t need all the dressing however, so I wouldn’t use as much next time.

Last summer I bought Chameleon Crocs for my daughter- meaning they change color when they get wet. Loved them! This year Crocs came out with Chameleon Whale Crocs– very preppy, very cute!

Many afternoons, I find myself really tired- usually around naptime for my toddler! I love these Refreshers Very Berry packs I can make at home with water. In fact, I like these better than the drink they make in store. I know there is a bunch of caffeine in them which is great for me as we aren’t coffee drinkers and this helps me carry on!

The pint glasses we all reach for at our house- Bike Party! My sister-in-law gave these to us for Christmas and my husband and I seem to reach for these above all our other pint glasses each time. They are made in Denver and make a great gift!

Last summer I ordered a platter and salad bowl from Pottery Barn – love the roping detail and how you cannot break it (** or we haven’t managed to yet)  Looks like glass but it’s melamine.  May have to get more pieces this summer!

For Cinco de Mayo- these are the cutest and easiest sombrero cookies to make. We brought these to a party and the kids loved them last year- I think we made 2 dozen and ran out in 2 minutes. Will repeat for sure.

As for dying eggs, I try and dodge this craft every year. In fact, I usually hope my crafty friend Kristy will come and do it with my kids!! (It has worked before) This year I just MAY try this because I like how it looks and I am not sure how much longer my 9 year old will want to do this craft! Because I learn best by seeing something, here’s a Rubber Cement Tutorial on dying eggs in a cool way.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristy permalink
    April 8, 2014 4:38 pm

    Kids (young and old) are welcome anytime over Easter weekend to decorate! Would love it! xoxo
    (P.S. Did you hear the “blown out” part on the video about the eggs? I’m not sure how you do that! ; )

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      April 8, 2014 7:30 pm

      me either! was hoping you could figure that out. 🙂 It’s a date!

  2. mlcairns permalink
    April 9, 2014 4:54 pm

    “Blown” eggs are just that – you pierce a hole in both ends of the egg with a pin (slightly larger at one end, like a nail) and blow the raw egg out. It’s not easy, sort of on par with blowing up a bunch of little balloons to make balloon animals. I remember doing it one year when I was a kid, but only once. I’m sure my mom decided it was more trouble than it was worth. You could certainly do this w/ hard boiled eggs instead.

    ps. The sombrero cookie w/ the pink gumdrop looks more like a nipple than a hat to me!

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      April 14, 2014 2:01 pm

      Thanks for this Mere!! Figures you could tell me how to do this with an egg. I laughed about the sombrero cookies!

      S

Leave a Reply

