Skip to content

cooking in season

August 20, 2014

sauteed fresh cornI love Ina Garten. If I could invite three famous people to dinner, she would be one of them and I’d ask her to cook the meal. Her food is so easy and seems to always be a success. I made her simple Sauteed Corn as a side dish this week and it was outstanding. My husband and my boys are die hard corn ON THE COB guys- so to cut the corn OFF the cob was met with some resistance by my 9 year old. Well, it was awesome and the last words my husband said to me before we went to sleep were “That really was the best side dish you have ever made.” Too funny.

In my relationship with Ina, I do everything she says except I always decrease the amount of butter she recommends. For this recipe I used only 5 cobs of corn and only 1 1/2 T. of butter.  Based on the fact we wished there was more corn, I would make more cobs next time! Also, here is the easy way I removed the corn from the cob without a huge mess.

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2014 7:26 am

    Ina is my favorite too – I’ve never made any of her recipes with the end result being totally awesome!

  2. August 20, 2014 7:26 am

    With “out” the end result being totally awesome! Duh!!

  3. August 20, 2014 7:38 am

    I love Ina too! I have a make-believe relationship with her where I pretend that she is my mother-in-law, aunt, etc. and she teaches me all her tricks, we chat about Paris, etc. I’m going to see her in Denver in November and can’t wait!

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      August 21, 2014 6:54 am

      me too! very excited

  4. Coleen permalink
    August 20, 2014 5:36 pm

    Ina’s recipes are the best! Yesterday I made her fabulous blueberry coffee cake muffins, and they are to die for! BEWARE- You can’t stop eating them!

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      August 21, 2014 6:55 am

      Oh! I love that recipe. I should be making those now with how great the blueberries are! thanks Coleen!

  5. Beth permalink
    August 20, 2014 7:05 pm

    So simple! I’ll have to try it. What main dish did you have with it?

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      August 21, 2014 6:55 am

      I had made tequila Shrimp from Iowa Girl Eats over cous cous. That’s another great recipe!

  6. Kelly permalink
    August 21, 2014 4:28 pm

    My kids ask me to cut it off, this looks awesome!

Trackbacks

  1. in the kitchen | the concierge mom

Leave a Reply

