Skip to content

glitter and glue

August 26, 2014

glitterOne of my favorite parts from Glitter and Glue by Kelly Corrigan- “If you had asked me, after I graduated from college, whose voice I would hear in my head for the rest of my life, whose voice I would want to hear, I’d have said some combination of my dad’s and my roommate Tracy’s and Jackson Browne’s. I would have continued with ten or twenty or two hundred others before I got to my mom. But now, give me almost any situation- termites, refinancing or back pain, allowance, mean girls or sibling rivalry, a child’s despair, a husband’s inattention, or my own spikes of rage and regret- and watch how fast I dial her number.”

(quicknote to you- I didn’t LOVE this book- I actually felt like it never quite came together like her previous books have. However, she writes about coming to understand her mother as she grows older, and realizes how valuable she is to her- very insightful parts for me to read- certainly an interesting book club discussion I think)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

