Skip to content

tidy up

March 27, 2015

the-life-changing-magic-of-tidying-upIf a book about cleaning up makes the best seller list, call me intrigued.  The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing is a meaningful read. I love to get rid of stuff. One of my very good friends once said “When I give you a gift, I just hope it doesn’t get donated!” I love to pass things on to people who can use them. So, I first thought that maybe this book didn’t have much to teach me. But, it already has and I am only a few chapters in! It goes against doing one room at a time, or getting rid of a couple things everyday- all the usual things we have heard. I agree that when I have less, I have LESS TO CLEAN UP. Amen!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ali permalink
    March 27, 2015 6:53 pm

    I read about her recently. I am all about about less stuff too!! Had to laugh though because one thing she said was “sponges belong under the sink.” Well with safety locks on the cabinet and me using the sponge about 1000x a day, that one had to go after a couple of days. But I am otherwise intrigued.

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      March 27, 2015 7:19 pm

      Ali-
      You made me laugh. Would love to hear what you think if you read it. Maybe we can Facetime. Miss you- Suz

      • Ali permalink
        March 29, 2015 9:30 am

        I do want to read it so I will keep you posted. I will also be in with Amy if you go on an elimination tour.

  2. Amy permalink
    March 27, 2015 7:48 pm

    Suz, can you break it down into a short summary? And then come visit and show me how it’s done? 😉 Not moving in 8 years means I haven’t had the built-in ruthless pre-moving clean-outs I need! But the thought of reading a book about it is too grim. Signed, Hoarder

    • March 28, 2015 9:37 pm

      Amy, Is this an all expense paid trip? Because I find it VERY easy to eliminate things for other people! Let me know what you have in mind. XO
      Suz

  3. Jenn permalink
    March 31, 2015 5:58 am

    I am curious as to way “it goes against decluttering one room at a time.”

Leave a Reply

