Skip to content

late august

August 23, 2015

porchLove this time of year. We are eating outside and staying outside more- it’s been beautiful in Colorado!

I always share my favorite recipes so here is my most recent home run. Fish Tacos with Avocado Sweet Corn Slaw by Iowa Girl Eats. I bought halibut (never cheap, but so delicious) and omitted the cabbage as I just don’t like it! But everything else, we LOVED. My kids gobbled it up and my husband said it was better that the fish tacos we always go out to eat for. High praise! She has the best recipes over there- search them and tell me if you find some you love! Haven’t ever made one we didn’t like. (after we all had seconds, I didn’t even use a corn tortilla, just made it into a salad and it was just as good).

We hung a porch swing this month. I hesitated for years as I wasn’t sure if it would just collect dust, or collect appointments to the plastic surgeon. So far, so good. I bought this Sunday Porch Swing at Ballard on major sale- which is good because unless you hang it yourself, you have that bill to pay too. I also bought rope instead of the chain and that wasn’t expensive at all, but added a lot more character to the swing. We have used it everyday since it was hung. Read the reviews if you are considering it!

I stumbled upon Original Sprout hair products for my daughter and have now spread the bottles into my boys showers, too. The deep conditioner is my favorite for Brooke as her fine hair gets so knotted – and it smells so good. It actually helps me know if my middle son washed his hair rather than just wetting it! Plus, People magazine featured Princess George’s favorite things and supposedly he even uses it- if it’s good enough for royalty…

Another note about hair, my sister had a wetbrush when we saw her in Chicago. I quickly bought one on amazon for the rest of our trip and then bought another for me at Target when we got home. If you need to brush hair that’s wet, this is the brush.

TuffTaag is now my top choice to have on our suitcases for travel. These things are indestructible and easy to spot. It was time to move away from furious scribbling on a flimsy temporary bag tag at the airport at curbside check-in!

Finally, an early bday present for me was an Optrix. Most of you know I am crazy for photography and I have wanted an underwater case to be able to photograph my kids with my phone. Optrix seemed to be the clear winner and it’s soooo easy to use. I bought the one with the 4 lenses and have found I use two mostly- and just love this extra point of view!

That’s all for August- my boys start school in the morning! Always love hearing from you all- let me know if you have any great summertime finds!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

