Skip to content

october goods

October 13, 2015

catsI love this month! It’s so gorgeous out and I love the crisp air at night. Why can’t fall last 6 months?

Here’s what’s new over here-

Brooke loves cats. Which is funny as I am not a big fan and am allergic. She spotted cat shoes at Nordstrom over the summer and has wanted them ever since. Last week we passed these shoes again and she begged to try them on. I asked the salesperson about them as they are kind of jellyish and she said parents rave about them. They have some smell combat that reminds me of a strawberry shortcake doll- AMAZING. Plus, when she leaves them in our mudroom, they smell wonderful and fight the terrible smell of the boy’s UA shoes. Why can’t they put this smelling combat in my boys shoes!? Seriously.  As a side note, I tried so very hard to get her to buy these ballet shoes rather than those cats- but even the salesperson knew I was dead ended. In all honesty, the cat shoes are growing on me, but–  If you can buy a pair, buy the ballet ones- TOO CUTE!

Williams Sonoma has restocked their fall candles and they smell wonderful. All their essential oil candles are worth smelling if you can stop in. Makes your house smell like fall.

So, if I can’t be Jennifer Aniston, I may as well try her Living Proof line. With the rage all about the Living Proof Dry Shampoo, I picked up a can at Nordstrom. It definitely does the trick, but don’t spray at the hairline else you will look like Casper- like I did heading late to tennis one day!! I was licking my finger in the car to rub it out! I guess the point is to spray IN YOUR HAIR- not on your skin!

Yesterday, I dusted off an Ina Garten cookbook and made her Homemade Granola Bars.   Ina never disappoints! I felt like the number one mom ever until my kids were like “These are awesome!” and then grabbed the corn syrup Target bars on the way to school. I will still make them again as they were super easy and so delicious.  Next up is her Baked Potatoes with Yogurt and Sour Cream. That is on the menu for tomorrow night! And for dessert this weekend- is Cooking Lights Hasselback Apples. Doesn’t it look amazing?  Please let me know if you try any of these!

And, always- I enjoy hearing from you. I have joked that as a blogger, you can often feel like you are having a very one-sided convo… it’s lonely somedays! Thanks for reading and feel free to comment!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2015 8:28 pm

    I have made Ina’s Granola Bars too- Yum!

  2. October 13, 2015 8:29 pm

    Wish I could have seen you licking your fingers and rubbing your head;)

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      October 29, 2015 7:05 am

      Wish you were in Colorado! Miss you!

  3. Nancy permalink
    October 13, 2015 9:08 pm

    I love those cat shoes! Can’t wait to try those apples – will get back to you.

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      October 29, 2015 7:06 am

      Please do! I still haven’t made them! Maybe in November when you are out here!

  4. Ali permalink
    October 14, 2015 11:00 am

    Hi! Just saw my old stylist yesterday. He movd away 2 years ago and he had about two years of bad haircuts to fix on me. He recommended Oribe products. Have you ever used? He said they are pricey but worth it. Going to give them a try.

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      October 29, 2015 7:06 am

      I use Oribe. I really like them. My stylist only carries that line and my hair seems healthier (Not so dry) after the last 2 years of using them!

  5. Andrea permalink
    October 19, 2015 3:04 pm

    Love the shoes, bummed they aren’t made up to Delaney’s size! I will look for snippets of them on Brooke’s tootsies in your instagram feed. 🙂

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      October 29, 2015 7:07 am

      Too funny- so there are mini Melisssas and regular Melissa’s- you may have some luck after all!

Leave a Reply

