Skip to content

cooking and reading in july

July 23, 2016

nobake energy

hi there! Happy mid- summer. I have been on a cooking high lately. Here are some of my favorites:

No-Bake Energy Bites – so easy- my 4 year old and I made these and they were so good, I may have eaten half.  My sister makes these and freezes them for a quick breakfast for her girls.

Garlic Expressions-this stuff is AMAZING. It smells so good. My friend Heather had this on a Broccoli slaw salad when we were camping and it was love at first smell for me.

Ina’s Blueberry Muffins– Ina always has to be included in my mix of recipes. She just deserves the spot!

Basil Butter Chicken– I remembered this chicken for the archives and it’s coming back! Wonderful with fresh basil.

Sauteed Corn– It’s almost time for CORN! This recipe is so easy and fast- it’s our favorite way to eat it.

Creamy Avocado Dip– for a change up from the usual guacamole!

Books I’ve been reading:

Circling the Sun– I loved this book. The whole imagery of Kenya in the early 1900’s and Beryl’s amazing independent spirit- it was definitely an interesting read.

In a Dark, Dark Wood– I can see why this book is being made into a movie. You know something is coming but not sure how it will play out.

The Luckiest Girl Alive– currently reading. I can see she has a real dark side- which is always interesting!

The Guest Room– this is certainly not a must-read but my mom and I both read it this summer and it was entertaining.

Would love your book and recipe suggestions! Here’s to August!

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill Keogh permalink
    July 23, 2016 9:56 pm

    I LOVED Circling the Sun too! It takes a while to get in to but it’s great. The love story, ahhhhh. So good.
    I also loved On the edge of the orchard.

    And my two favorites of the summer: THE GIRLS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A fiction about a girl joining The Manson Family and why. Couldn’t put it down!!!! And, GLORY OVER EVERYTHING. The sequel to The Kitchen House.

  2. Diana Morrow permalink
    July 26, 2016 7:54 am

    I just read The Art Forger by B. A. Shapiro. A good, fast summer read.

  3. Steph permalink
    August 5, 2016 4:41 pm

    I make those energy bites all the time for m̶e̶ my girls.

Leave a Reply

