Skip to content

january things

January 23, 2014

ImageHappy New Year!

Here are some of our favorite things from January-

Could your kids name the state capitals? My kids are close ever since my friend Angela sent me this link to Tour the States– very fun learning video! (admittedly, I learned some too!)

Saw the Original Dish Drying Mat at my friend Jill’s last week- I am using it instead of a wet dishcloth for when I empty my dishwasher.

Found Mom’s Kitchen Handbook this month and really like her recipes- especially this article- Myth of a Perfect Mother

Books I have recently enjoyed- The Husbands Secret by Liane Moriarty and The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom. On my bedside table is The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd.  My friend Krista suggested I read How Children Succeed: Grit, Curiosity and the Hidden Power of Character by Paul Tough- I ordered and gave to my husband to have the first crack at it!

My friend Erin posted a recipe for Homemade Flour Tortillas last week and I am considering a tortilla press!! If you have a favorite press, please tell me!

A new snack for long flights for my husband- Kate’s Real Food Stash bars- great stuff inside and great taste!

Books my nine year old and I are reading together- The One and Only Ivan and Wonder. Both heavy books but such interesting discussions!

My friend Linda sent me this tip of what to do with your butter wrapper and I have done this ever since she sent me the idea!

Hope you are staying warm wherever you are!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2014 10:11 am

    Thanks for featuring Mom’s Kitchen Handbook on your post! Most appreciated.

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      January 23, 2014 2:15 pm

      Hi Katie,
      Thanks for your note. Your content is really good. Looking forward to cooking from your site.

      Suzanne

  2. May 24, 2014 9:34 am

    Good day! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new
    initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to
    work on. You have done a wonderful job!

Leave a comment