Skip to content

tidying up part II

April 9, 2015

I honestly am amazed at how many conversations I am having about this book. (The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing) It seems I am getting texts everyday or an email about it. I guess we are all looking for ways to free ourselves up. There were parts of this books that made me really think about my belongings and other parts I thought were silly. For instance, I can’t imagine speaking and thanking all of my possessions for the job they do on a daily basis- but there have been times I should take better care of what I own. And I am still stumped how you don’t tackle one room at a time.

Here are some of my small changes that I attribute to having read this book:

1. I collected all my coins from around the house as she suggested and took them to Coinstar in my grocery store. I always thought they charged you for correlating your money, but you have an option of donating it to charity or getting a giftcard. I chose a giftcard to Starbucks and took my receipt to the Starbucks store and they put it on a gift card- so easy. I had $35 in coins laying around in all my drawers. Kind of nuts.

2. I have taken a serious look at all our shoes. Just by going through them, I donated at least 10 pairs that the kids had outgrown but we still had in our back door trunk.  Everyday we were pushing these aside to find a pair we wear.

3. I went through all my kitchen extras and saw a rice cooker I never use. I decided to use it that night- and when the rice wasn’t any better than what I normally make on my stovetop- I donated. Opened up a whole shelf in my kitchen.

4. I asked my older boys to go through their closets and tell me what they would not wear again. News to me- half the wardrobe was on the floor- donated and I don’t have to keep picking them off the floor when they fall from the hanger.

5. Went through all my makeup and samples. Using what I actually have bought now that I know what I have. Used samples or threw away.  Using products I spent money on and forgot about!

6. Went through linen closet- donated half of our sheets- especially king size pillow cases as I have never used them in 10 years and probably had 10 of them.

7. Pictures are everywhere in my house. They are loose, they are in drawers, books, albums. I have decided to lay out some of my random albums on my kitchen table, share them with my kids and then toss them. This author is right that they have served their purpose. I haven’t looked at some of these pictures in 20 years and they aren’t important, just a reminder of a time or event in my life.

I could keep going but I am not trying to bore you!  It’s amazing how many things we work around on a daily basis without making a decision about them. I feel great addressing what’s in front of me and taking action. And the whole idea of only keeping what brings you joy was a big one. I have so many shirts and sweaters I may wear one day- but if I didn’t wear them this past winter, then I obviously don’t like the fit or style. Onwards.

I am curious what is resonating with you with this book?  Let’s talk.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    April 9, 2015 5:21 pm

    This is awesome! I will have to pick up the book. I love a good organization and de-cluttering project! Good for you for getting all that done! Makes you feel so much lighter!

  2. Ali permalink
    April 9, 2015 5:24 pm

    Hi again, not from this book, but I read once about the three most important words in organizing your house. “How about now” — the shoes not in their cubby, the stuff on the stairs, the bag of returns in my bedroom, the empty suitcase in the hallway. We walk by this stuff all the time and think, “I’ll get it later.” When I think instead, “how about now” the stuff actually gets done before it gets out of hand.

  3. Wendy permalink
    April 9, 2015 6:07 pm

    I really got a lot out of the book! I notice it carries over to many areas. Cleaning out my purse more often. Donating not only clothes but vases and candles I’m never going to use. It makes you reevaluate everything. Feels awesome!

  4. Allison permalink
    April 9, 2015 8:39 pm

    I’m convinced. I will read!

  5. Heather permalink
    April 9, 2015 8:41 pm

    Loving what I have read so far! Have already cleaned out my closets & drawers – could not believe how much stuff I donated! It’s so cathartic!

  6. Linda McBride permalink
    April 12, 2015 8:40 am

    I have the book but have not begun to read it yet. I loved the tip you posted about Coinstar. Going to that for sure! Thanks

  7. Emily permalink
    April 14, 2015 8:42 am

    It does seem to be the book of the moment doesn’t it? I LOVE to purge so she was definitely speaking my language. I found a lot of good information as well! I also laughed at some of the kooky bits. (Respecting my socks by not folding them together) I will admit the sentimental stuff is more difficult to cull through and toss so I have been avoiding it. Argh! Why can’t I just toss it?!
    Took all of our random coins to Coinstar got an astounding $75.

Leave a Reply

