Skip to content

back to the kitchen

September 10, 2016

applebreadLately, when I ask friends about what meals they are cooking, everyone is getting Green Chef, Blue Apron, and other food deliveries to their door. We all seem to be in need of new ideas.  Here are some of mine- please share yours!

Panko Crusted Tilapia – I am trying to add more fish into my menus and this seemed like a no brainer. I didn’t have panko in my pantry so I used bread crumbs but I wouldn’t do that again. Stocking up on panko! This was easy and fast.

Thai Cashew Coconut Rice with Ginger Peanut Sauce– my friend Kristy sent this link to me and I am excited about it. It has all the things I like!

Easy Cake Mix Apple Bread– YUM. YUM. YUM.

We made a cake for a friend and I needed a quick recipe for the frosting. You may have all made this before but it was sooooooooo good. I am keeping this Chocolate Buttercream Frosting printed in my recipe box as a go to.

Beef with Peppers– this is an oldie- but back on my list for next week. I don’t add red peppers as no one loves them over here- but everything else runs the same.

Chicken, Bacon, Date and Brussels Sprouts Quinoa Power Salad– read the rave reviews and am buying pre-shredded Brussels Sprouts at my grocery. I think my husband and I are going to love it and all my kids like bacon so it could work!

Talk to me, friends! I want your easy weeknight recipes.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracy permalink
    September 10, 2016 9:19 am

    This is our latest favorite:
    http://www.myrecipes.com/m/recipe/peppered-white-bean-kale-egg-stack
    It “makes four servings”, but if we’re hungry, we eat the whole thing between the the two of us. Not kid-friendly, so Avery usually gets scrambled eggs!

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      September 11, 2016 4:18 pm

      Totally trying this!! Thank you!

  2. September 10, 2016 9:31 am

    I went heavy on Smitten Kitchen favorites this week: https://smittenkitchen.com/2010/04/shakshuka/ (I like w/ crusty bread, not pita); https://smittenkitchen.com/2015/01/mushroom-marsala-pasta-bake/ (can cut mozz in half and would still be very cheesy); https://smittenkitchen.com/2010/09/skirt-steak-salad-with-arugula-and-blue-cheese/ (dressing makes a lot)

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      September 11, 2016 4:19 pm

      Mere- these sound so good! Can you just make them for me? Yum!

  3. Madelyn Backhaus permalink
    September 10, 2016 11:51 am

    Hi Suzanne – Some great recipes. Excited to try the brussel sprouts salad and thai cashew rice recipe. Hope back to school is going well! We’ve already got 4 weeks under our belt (most of them short weeks) and into volleyball and flag football.

    With the change of the season approaching I don’t have many that stick out right now but I do love this one. Got it from Kim. Its great with grilled salmon instead of the chicken. Or, without meat as a side dish. http://iowagirleats.com/2014/04/16/kale-and-wild-rice-bowls-with-honey-balsamic-vinaigrette/ (love Iowa Girl Eats)

    [http://cdn.iowagirleats.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Kale-and-Wild-Rice-Bowls-with-Honey-Balsamic-Vinaigrette-01_mini.jpg]

    Kale and Wild Rice Bowls with Honey-Balsamic Vinaigrette … iowagirleats.com Gluten-free Kale and Wild Rice Bowls with Honey-Balsamic Vinaigrette are hearty but fresh and full of flavor. One thing my city’s really missing is a salad bar type …

    This is another one that both Greg and I like. I deconstruct it for the kids so I’m not cooking two different meals. And, you can make the quinoa and slaw ahead of time – it is good when the quinoa is a little warm so I would reheat it a bit. http://pinchofyum.com/spicy-fish-taco-bowls-with-cilantro-lime-slaw [http://cdn.pinchofyum.com/wp-content/uploads/Fish-Taco-Bowls-1-Square.jpg]

    Spicy Fish Taco Bowls with Cilantro Lime Slaw – Pinch of Yum pinchofyum.com Spicy Fish Taco Bowls with cilantro lime slaw – crispy, fresh, and SO yummy! the fish is just lightly pan-fried which makes this whole thing super easy.

    Madelyn

    ________________________________

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      September 11, 2016 4:20 pm

      Awesome! I love almost every recipe I have ever made from Iowa Girl Eats. And she’s usually easy. Thank you!

  4. callmeweneedtotaco permalink
    September 10, 2016 9:18 pm

    Hi!
    These are some of my favorites! Easy. I make these on a Sunday and freeze them. Great for the busy weekday nights with tennis & soccer – and a vegetarian daughter!
    Enjoy!
    Black Bean Burgers
    http://www.skinnytaste.com/spicy-black-bean-burgers-with-chipotle/
    (The Skinnytaste Cookbook is great!)

    Tofu Lettuce Wraps
    (I use olive oil and frozen corn – works great)
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ree-drummond/tofu-lettuce-wraps.html

    • theconciergemom permalink*
      September 11, 2016 4:21 pm

      Yes to both! I am going to see if my kids miss the meat but I doubt it from the pics.
      Looking forward to your future wildly successful blog! Xo

Leave a comment